Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

using wordpress with addons

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Charmer83, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i'm going to be adding on more domains and want to use wordpress for each one. i need to know if i need to have a separate installation of wordpress for each domain... can i do that as everything is under the public_html so wondering how that will work? :confused:
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The short answer is yes. You'd want to create a separate install into each domain, addon or otherwise.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    from what i've read in other posts was if the install was in the public_html folder then you couldn't do another install. so if i have a new folder for the new domain i can do an install into that one... is that correct?
     
  4. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i should have said even though it's still under the public_html folder?
     
  5. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you can install only one wordpress installation under the public_html directory and every new installation required its own separate directory like public_html/wordpress1 , public_html/wordpress2 etc....So that you can browse the installation as

    http://yourdomain.com
    http://yourdomain.com/wordpress1
    http://yourdomain.com/wordpress2
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thank you G R Sonar... i'm still a little confused. i'm using wp as the domain not mydomain.com/wordpress and i want to be able to do that with any other addon i put in.
     
  7. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i want to use wp for each domain not for domain/wordpress... can i do that?
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Each addon domain you create will have its own public_html directory. All addon domains will be inside your main domain's public_html directory.

    So, you'd end up with:
    http://yourdomain.com
    http://yourotherdomain.com/
    http://youryetanotherdomain.com/
    http://icanhasyetanotherdomain.com/

    ...just as you wish. So yes. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well i just checked and it doesn't seem that my addons have their own public_html... there's only one public_html directory
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did you create parked domains instead do you think? If yes there would be no new directories.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let's say you have 3 domains:

    http://www.domain1.com
    http://www.anotherdomain.net
    http://www.domain3.biz

    then the structure on the server would (unless you change it) look as follows respectively:

    /home/domain/public_html
    /home/domain/public_html/anotherdomain.net
    /home/domain/public_html/domain3.biz


    now just install Wordpress into each of those 3 folders :)


    The last 2 domains doesn't actually have a public_html folder as such
     
  12. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would like to recommend you first, please check the document root path for your addon domains and then try to install the wordpress, basically hosting account main domain name having /home/cpanel_username/public_html directory and under the main document root addon domains document available for example you are having two addon domains then document root will be

    /home/cpanel_username/public_html/addon1.com
    /home/cpanel_username/public_html/addonm2.com

    Hope it will help you to understand the basic structure for main and addon domains.....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    no they are addons only...
     
  14. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i will try this and let you know... thanks
     
  15. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i'm using OLM as my host so i will have to check with them to see if i can set it up this way.
     
  16. Charmer83

    Charmer83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i'm using OLM as my host so i will have to check with them to see if i can set it up this way.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice