The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup doesn't exist - help!

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Clawr0a, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. Clawr0a

    Clawr0a Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why doesn't this file exist? How can I enable it?

    There are some weird behaviors in my backups. I'll be making a backup and wait on the ''per your request, no email will be sent" page.. then when i click 'go back' it shows another backup in progress started at pretty much the exact time that i clicked go back. keep in mind im clicking the button go back and not in my browser bar.

    anyway, how can i enable logs??
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    From your description it appears you are performing a backup from within the cPanel interface. The problem you are describing should be taken up with your web hosting provider (assuming you don't have root access to the server).
     
  3. Clawr0a

    Clawr0a Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    I have root access to the server/whm
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That log file should be generated on every backup.
    Sounds to me like a browser cache issue, or, that page had not updated as fast as it could have to give you the proper details. Guessing of course.

    How are you looking for this file/directory? via SSH logged in as root, correct?
     
  5. Clawr0a

    Clawr0a Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Yes.

    root@server [/home/*]# locate cpbackup
    /etc/cpbackup-exclude.conf
    /etc/cpbackup.conf
    /etc/cpbackup.conf.cache
    /etc/cpbackup.public.conf
    /home/~/cpbackup-exclude.conf
    /home/~/.cpanel/caches/config/_etc_cpbackup.conf___~
    /home/~/.cpanel/caches/config/_etc_cpbackup.public.conf___~
    /home/virtfs/urircd/var/cpanel/configs.cache/_etc_cpbackup.conf___~
    /home/virtfs/urircd/var/cpanel/version/cpbackup-excludes-v2
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/clean_user_cpbackup-excludes
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/mount_cpbackup
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/unmount_cpbackup
    /usr/local/cpanel/etc/cpbackup-exclude.conf
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
    /var/cpanel/configs.cache/_etc_cpbackup.conf___~
    /var/cpanel/version/cpbackup-excludes-v2
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The locate database does not update automatically. You did actually cd to /usr/local/cpanel/logs and check cpbackup isn't there, correct?

    Code:
    cd /usr/local/cpanel/log/cpbackup
    ls -lah
     
  7. tibbitts

    tibbitts Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did a fresh install of cpanel (release) on rhel6 earlier this week. Cpbackup is schedued to run. The /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup directory was never created. I just noticed that now and have created the directory manually. The backup apparently never ran (though scheduled in cron) until I created the directory; I've now run cpbackup manually, and it seems to now be working correctly.

    Our older servers (have been running for years on rhel5 and also the release version) all have this directory, and it's been populated with log files automatically.

    Paul
     
    #7 tibbitts, Aug 2, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This directory should be populated on the first cPanel backup generation. Did you allow time for the first backup to generate? You can check to see if the cron job for "cpbackup" exists by running:

    Code:
    # crontab -l
    Also, you may want to ensure "crond" is running:

    Code:
    # service crond restart
    Thank you.
     
  9. tibbitts

    tibbitts Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cpbackup was definitely scheduled in cron, to run daily, for several days. After not receiving email notifying me of backup completion for any day, I determined that I needed to create the log directory. After that, and no other changes, cpbackup ran properly from cron.

    Paul
     
Loading...

Share This Page