The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag file massive

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Metro2, Aug 23, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does anyone know why the file /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag is constantly growing to huge sizes?

    I can rm /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag and within a day it's back up to 8GB and growing.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    JawadArshad likes this.
  3. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you cPanelMichael.

    I'm not sure I follow your exact meaning when you say the temporary workaround is to "move the file out of the way". Are you talking about the ip.pag file at /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag ? If so, I have been using rm /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag to delete it manually every so often but it just comes back.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, I am referring to the /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag file. Deleting that file is advised as a temporary workaround, as case EA-4092 should address the issue with a permanent solution.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you cPanelMichael. Definitely holding out hope that there's a solution eventually, as the file grows to surprisingly large sizes and the high volume of "collections_remove_stale: Failed deleting collection" log instances is a bit unnerving.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Metro2 likes this.
  7. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi cPanelMichael,

    Thank you very much for coming back to this and posting that info! Much appreciated!

    Now if only I weren't so gun-shy to switch to EA4. I'm running CloudLinux 6.7 and a couple months ago attempted the switch from WHM's EA3 to CL's EA4 instructions and to put it short - things did not go well, so I reverted back to EA3. When I brought the issues here to cPanel support I was told "well you're using CloudLinux's EA4 now" and when I brought the issues to CL support they said "it's still cPanel's EA4" and so rather than let my ticket queue fill up with customers having problems, I went back to EA3 as quick as I could to restore order & operation. (I'm not the only one frustrated with the cPanel/CloudLinux EasyApache relationship if you read the CL boards at all, btw).

    But again, thank you! This information will come in very handy someday when I have the guts to attempt converting WHM EA3 to CL EA4 once more.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Metro2,

    I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience on your initial attempt at converting to EasyApache 4.

    Feel free to open a new thread when you're ready to consider switching to EasyApache 4 again. We can go through any concerns you have one by one, and let you know if those issues have since been addressed. We pushed out several changes with EasyApache 4 coinciding with cPanel version 60 to address issues with EasyApache 4 and CloudLinux.

    Thanks!
     
    Metro2 likes this.
  9. prakashnplink

    prakashnplink Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    According to this link, I tried to minimize the size of ip.pag. But maintenance script doesn't work at all. I tried following:

    $ sudo /scripts/maintenance # didn't worked
    $ sudo /scripts/shrink_modsec_ip_database -x # didn't worked
    and
    $ sudo /usr/sbin/modsec-sdbm-util -D /var/cpanel/secdatadir -v -n /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag &&\
    rm /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag &&\
    rm /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.dir &&\
    mv /var/cpanel/secdatadir/new_db.pag /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.pag &&\
    mv /var/cpanel/secdatadir/new_db.dir /var/cpanel/secdatadir/ip.dir

    last one worked. 500M was reduce to 20M.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @prakashnplink,

    Did you install the utility on the server first by using the "yum install ea-modsec-sdbm-util" command? Have you tried running it while logged in as "root" instead of with the "sudo" command?

    Thank you.
     
  11. prakashnplink

    prakashnplink Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, it is already installed in server and yes I am running it as root user.
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page