The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/Var Partition Usage Warning

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AliceD, Jun 30, 2015.

1. AliceD

AliceD Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have one dedicated hosting and it's just hosted of 100+ wordpress sites, I am very new to web hosting, previously my developer taking care all of this. But he was left the company few months ago. So no choice, I have to dive in myself to solve the problem.

Recently I had received few email alerts from my hosting service provider said that my /Var disc space already use up to 95%. It sounds very serious and make me worries that what will be happen if I do not take action. When I chat with the hosting service provider, they telling me that increase my disk space of /var is the only solution. But I not sure whether this is the correct way so I posted my questions here, hope I can get some advice.

My hosting partition disk space allocation as per below:

/home 230GB (Usage 136GB)
    /temp 2.0GB (Usage 1.8GB)
    /var 20GB (Usage 19GB)
    /usr 20GB (Usage 11GB)
    /boot 24M (Usage 157M)

From the above partition disc allocation, My questions are:

(a) Since I still have quite a lot of the disc space for my /home and why cannot move some disc space from /home to /var? Is it once the partition and disc space allocation is fixed during the set up, it cannot be change anymore?

(b) The above system partition allocation scheme is the standard way? What is the best partition allocation scheme?