The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vBulletin installation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by |xT|, May 26, 2005.

  1. |xT|

    |xT| Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    vBulletin [PROBLEM]

    Hello,
    I'm using cPanel Build 10.2.0-RELEASE 82 and I'm trying to install vBulletin 3.0.7 .
    First of all I uploaded the vB to the FTP server and then I set up a new MySQL DB in "MySQL Databases" called forums (finally it's named test_forums) after that I created a new db user called admin (test_admin) and I assigned him "ALL" right's to the forums database.

    This is not my first vBulletin installtion and before ( on servers where no cPanel was on it worked ). Please don't ask me to contact my provider because I already did, without success.

    My vB config.php looks like this:

    Code:
    // ****** DATABASE SERVER NAME ******
    // This is the hostname or IP address of the database server.
    // It is in the format HOST:PORT. If no PORT is specified, 3306 is used.
    // If you are unsure of what to put here, leave it at the default value.
    $servername = 'localhost';
    
    // ****** DATABASE USERNAME & PASSWORD ******
    // This is the username and password you use to access MySQL.
    // These must be obtained through your webhost.
    $dbusername = 'test_admin';
    $dbpassword = 'password';
    
    // ****** DATABASE NAME ******
    // This is the name of the database where your vBulletin will be located.
    // This must be created by your webhost.
    $dbname = 'test_forums';
    When I try to join www.mydomain.com/forums/install/install.php I get prompt to enter the username and the password of the cPanel but I don't know why.

    [​IMG]

    No matter if I enter the right cPanel information or just click on "cancel" the installation wizard and the acp ( after the installation ) looks blank as you can see on the screenshots.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for your help!
     
    #1 |xT|, May 26, 2005
    Last edited: May 26, 2005
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You have an account setup named test? Why?

    Setup a real user account in WHM, then go to that users cPanel and setup the database thru there. And then try it again. SHould go off without a hitch.

    This picture should be the giveaway that you've done it wrong.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. |xT|

    |xT| Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the "test" account was just an example because I see no reason to name the real account in here because it won't change anything...

    And well yeh...I set up an account...went into users cPanel and setup the database thru there alrady before.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Look at the picture where you outlined in red. Is this directory password protected with an .htaccess?
     
  5. digitard

    digitard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was thinking the same thing.

    I can tell you though that you should, in general, have no trouble w/ CPANEL and installing VB on a server. I have a Cpanel/WHM server (Redhat) and I have installed various versions of VBulletin w/ no trouble as well as most other major forums (tried em all trying to find the one I liked the most).
     
  6. |xT|

    |xT| Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeh it is...well the root directory is but the directory of the I'm trying to reach is not and even after I've erased the .htaccess file nothing changed.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you erased the .htaccess and it's still popping up asking for the password, then I'd have to guess you deleted a different one.
    If you have root directory protected, everything under it is protected as well.

    Did you pass protect from inside cPanel?
     
  8. |xT|

    |xT| Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    for sure I deleted the .htaccess in the root directory as well and it's not about any .htaccess files since it prompts me to enter the login information of the cpanel and not any restricted area. And yes I protected it from inside the cpanel before and removed it over there as well.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well you're missing something simple here. Without enough Info to go on here it's tough to understand where you went wrong. I'd suggest you find someone who knows more, have a look for you.

    One last try from me, where is this account located on your server?

    /home/test/public_html/vbforum/
    (test is a generic username of course)
    Is that correct?
     
  10. |xT|

    |xT| Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    "forum" instead of "vbforum" in my case but it doesnt matter tru
     
  11. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    what's weird here is that his install script is pointing him to the SSL cPanel port 2083. Can you look through the code in that install.php script and look through all the files it includes and or calls and see if anything might tell you why.
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yep. That's why I wondered where it was located.

    Is this domain available to view right now?
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    WTF is this garbage? Check the source.
    instantmsgr.com

    (where those images above are being hosted)
     
  14. |xT|

    |xT| Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    nice hoax, isn't it ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page