The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very Basic- Control For Domain to Resolve

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by x0v0x, Apr 22, 2005.

  1. x0v0x

    x0v0x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    left/central coast CA
    I have:
    -Designated name servers for the domain w/ registrar
    -FTPd the /index.htm page for the domain to the server

    What cPanel control do I use to get the name to resolve on the server?. I have gotten stuck in a sub-domain loop w/ the domain name I am using for my DNS's. Tx
     
    #1 x0v0x, Apr 22, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2005
  2. x0v0x

    x0v0x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    left/central coast CA
    Woops. Whatever I have I done? My domain resolves to an /Index of page w/ nothing in the Parent directory except for empty sub-dir files.
     
  3. KMK Enterprises

    KMK Enterprises Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Be sure you upload your index.htm file into the folder called public_html.
     
  4. x0v0x

    x0v0x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    left/central coast CA
    Tx for reply. Just got back from vacation and am diving in again.

    I think that I may be missing something conceptual related to the B-I-G picture as it pertains to hosted vs dedicated servers. When using a dedicated server, (actually buying space from a reseller) is it necessary to set up seperate nameservers, (through the registrar), for each domain individually? I have set-up nameservers using one of my domains. ie NS1.[Example].com and NS2.[Example].com and the domain, http://www.[Example].com resolves to this:
    To get this same index of/ page for other domains,ie for a)http://www.[ex1].com and b)http://www.[ex2].com, do I need to go to the registrar and set-up seperate DNS ie a)NS1.ex1.com NS2.ex1.com and b)NS1.ex2.com NS2.ex2.com? I am leaving forwarding or "pointer" domains and sub-domains out of the picture, for the moment- just trying to find out what to upload and where to upload to just so that the domains resolve.

    Does each seperate domain have a "Web Manager", or do all index/home.html pages get uploaded to one public_html folder? What would a proper directory of, (for example), 3 domains look like and where in cPanel or in what cPanel folder would they be listed? Are the domain prefixes "http://www." necessary?

    Tx. :confused: :eek:

    PS Please disregard any stupid questions. Hopefully, one of them isn't.
     
    #4 x0v0x, May 3, 2005
    Last edited: May 3, 2005
  5. KMK Enterprises

    KMK Enterprises Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Now, let's see if I've got the this correct....

    You have domain1.com, domain2.com and domain3.com and you want them all to work with this single account?

    Accessing http://domain1.com already gives you the "index of."

    First things first. The reason you're seeing that "index of" directory, is because you don't actually have a default page loaded in there (only home.html is showing up in what you posted, and if that name is not set as a valid default page it won't work, which it obviously isn't because you're seeing the directory and not the page). Try uploading a simple HTML page called index.html or default.html to that folder. Then go to http://domain1.com and see if the page you uploaded shows up in your browser.

    To get domain2.com and domain3.com to point to the same exact account on this server, you don't need to set up separate nameservers for them.

    1) If your registrar provides domain forwarding, you can forward (point) them to a specific URL which is part of domain1.com (example: point domain2.com to http://domain1.com/domain2. Within your existing account, you'd make a sub-directory called domain2 and upload all files for domain2.com to that folder. This option provides no masking for the domain, unless your registrar also provides masking as an option.

    2) If your provider allows for parked or add-on domains, you can skip using the forward option from the registrar, and instead (at the registrar) change the nameservers they're pointing to to the same exact nameserver as this account is hosted on. Then add a parked + redirect or add-on domain which points to a sub-folder in a similar manner. This option provides masking for the domain, in other words the URL would actually appear to the viewer as http://domain2.com or http://domain3.com even though it's really pointing to http://domain1.com/whatever


    Sample Directory Structure:
    Parent Directory
    [DIR] _private/
    [DIR] cgi-bin/
    [DIR] domain2/
    [DIR] images/
    [TXT] index.html​
    [DIR] domain3/
    [DIR] images/
    [TXT] index.html​
    [DIR] images/
    [TXT] index.html
    [TXT] postinfo.html
    [DIR] suspended.page/​

    Now if what you're really wanting is to set up separate/individual accounts on your server for these accounts, that's an entirely different matter.

    Hope this helps.

    P.S. - reading the existing home.html and postinfo.html pages may provide additional information for you.
     
    #5 KMK Enterprises, May 5, 2005
    Last edited: May 5, 2005
  6. x0v0x

    x0v0x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    left/central coast CA
    I've gained a little more understanding today and will try to further clarify.
    I talked w/ two different people who have servers and have gotten two different answers/approaches relative to what I am trying to acheive.
    Objective: Upload several 1 pg sites to the WorldWideWeb. I will fill in the site content and links as I go. No redirects, forwarding, pointers or subdomains necessary at this juncture.
    Current Set-up: More than adequate disk space and bandwidth on a paid for 1/3 % portion of a server, (Apache). C-Panel is avail. Have assigned/set-up name servers via my registrar using one of my domain names. The domain resolves. The whois shows the domain to be on the name servers that I have set-up through registrar. (It just happens to be the same domain name that I have also used as the name for my nameservers.)
    Conflicting Approaches=Confused Head : =OOH! :confused: OUCH!
    Approach 1:
    Approach2:
    I haven't been able to see how this approach works, because the guy who has set-up the server acct, (and who in essence is acting as a reseller, which, incidentally was not how our original agreement was structured), is adamant about using the "Addon Domains" approach, and for some reason he is not giving me priveleges to AcctFunctions in the WHM. I don't know why all of the resistance, but this, (along w/ the cryptic explanations I have been recieving when requesting help), has sent me to another person who I am now going to buy server space from. (He is the individual who prefers approach #2. Approach #1 comes from a friend of mine at another forum and is *not* from Mr Hardtogetalongwith Cryptic)

    So... What is the best way of putting domains up w/ cPanel controls?
    Is it better to work "within" cPanel for uploading, or are there advantages to using an FTP client.
    I've had a H~ll of a time trying to configure my FTP client to go to "Parent Directory" to upload my stuff.

    Oh, one last note, (What's one more after this novella?). My confusion over whether to use "home" or "Index" stems from seeing HomeRoot: /home which I took to mean that the server was set up to use "/home.html" instead of "/index.html" for the "Home" page.
     
    #6 x0v0x, May 5, 2005
    Last edited: May 5, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page