The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very high load in the server

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by abhilashtt01, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. abhilashtt01

    abhilashtt01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I am having a centos cpanel server. When I check the load in the server, it shows very high value.

    ======================

    05:27:28 up 88 days, 9:27, 3 users, load average: 1920679105.17, 1920686744.28, 1920828125.06
    ======================

    server is working fine without any issue. It doesnt feel that it has this much load. Hence I think that this load value is fake. How can I correct this load to normal one. Top results is given below. Any help is appreciated.



    ************************************************
    /http://pastie.org/3009860

    root@server [~]# top -c

    top - 05:28:55 up 88 days, 9:29, 3 users, load average: 1920677146.16, 1920684255.46, 1920814879.45
    Tasks: 617 total, 2 running, 612 sleeping, 1 stopped, 2 zombie
    Cpu(s): 0.0%us, 2.5%sy, 12.6%ni, 84.6%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.2%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 12263740k total, 11555840k used, 707900k free, 433808k buffers
    Swap: 14352376k total, 228k used, 14352148k free, 6622544k cached

    486291 user1 26 10 207m 16m 9232 S 36.8 0.1 0:55.74 /usr/bin/php /home/user1/public_html/test/sync_xml.php
    494131 user2 28 10 203m 11m 7964 R 9.7 0.1 0:00.05 /usr/bin/php /home/user2/domain.com/index.php
    396285 mysql 30 15 3399m 1.8g 4956 S 3.9 15.5 49:40.70 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/ --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mys
    49199 nobody 26 10 432m 55m 2344 S 3.9 0.5 0:03.04 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    494129 root 35 19 13152 1460 724 R 3.9 0.0 0:00.02 top -c
    14711 roo t 34 19 104m 6492 1316 S 1.9 0.1 354:19.02 /usr/bin/python -tt /usr/sbin/lvestats-server
    1 root 15 0 10368 632 536 S 0.0 0.0 2:23.34 init [3]
    2 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 1:26.30 [migration/0/0]
    3 root 39 19 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 [ksoftirqd/0]
    4 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:12.27 [migration/0/1]
    ************************************************

    This Server is using worker mpm, apache configaration variable are shown below


    # These can be set in WHM under 'Apache Global Configuration'
    Timeout 300
    TraceEnable Off
    ServerSignature Off
    ServerTokens ProductOnly
    FileETag None
    StartServers 5
    <IfModule prefork.c>
    MinSpareServers 5
    MaxSpareServers 10
    </IfModule>
    ServerLimit 256
    MaxClients 250
    MaxRequestsPerChild 10000
    KeepAlive On
    KeepAliveTimeout 5
    MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
     
  2. alphawolf50

    alphawolf50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've never seen such a thing...

    Try running this:

    Code:
    rpm --verify procps
    That will verify that the top command's MD5 hash matches that of the binary originally installed, assuming the RPM database is valid. If any files are listed by that command, you've got a problem... potentially a rootkit.
     
    #2 alphawolf50, Dec 14, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2011
  3. abhilashtt01

    abhilashtt01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Its done
    root@server [~]# rpm --verify procps
    root@server [~]#
     
  4. alphawolf50

    alphawolf50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try running these two commands one right after the other:

    Code:
    # uptime
    
    # cat /proc/loadavg
    The second command is getting the load average directly from the kernel. Normally these show very similar numbers, but this will show whether the kernel also thinks there is high load or if uptime is playing tricks on you. If the second comman also shows extremely high load, then I am out of ideas...
     
  5. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Something looks corrupted. Time for a reboot at least.
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you please provide us with some environmental details on this machine?

    Code:
    uname -a
    cat /var/cpanel/sysinfo.config
    cat /var/cpanel/envtype
    cat /etc/redhat-release
     
Loading...

Share This Page