The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

very high load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rush, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. rush

    rush Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi to all, every day my server reach a too high cpu usage...i don't know why...maybe some crontab operation....

    here's my ps dump when the load was 70



    thank you, ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 rush, Apr 6, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2006
  2. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    From looking at that you can see there are too many apache processes open meaning a possible attack.

    Check the connections being made to your server and ban any suspicious IP's at your firewall.
     
  3. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    In addition to what celliott said, it is very possible that there is a malicious script or a "runaway script" which can continously loop, dragging down the server's resources. Overall, secure your server and optimize its services/applications. The attached file doesn't show CPU % or IOWait %.
     
  4. rush

    rush Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you guys,

    this weekend i'm going to analyze better all the reasons of this high load following your suggestions....

    thank you again
     
  5. maximus_marcus

    maximus_marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello ,

    If you want to tweak apache , try adding the resource cpu limit to the apache conf and further it can be done also for each domain in there. Then when you feel that the load is high try checking your server memory . For mysql I suggest you install mytop which is a tool that helps monitor mysql databases or then can be viewed using the following command

    mysqladmin processlist -i2

    where i is the time , in this case it is 2 secs. Try limiting the database usage also in the php.ini .

    Let me know if you need any further help with this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page