The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

very importan pliz help me!!! /var partition is empity :s

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by R_15, Nov 11, 2004.

  1. R_15

    R_15 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi
    by accident i delete all the content in /var

    that produce that now the whm and the cpanel don't work also
    nothings work ic an even use the shell :S

    the only thing hat work in the whm is the cPanel/WHM Update and the the software seccion(Update Server Software , Update System Software ) the funcion install a rpm says " Install an RPM Select packages to installError 404 while fetching url http://updates.cpanel.net//pub/rpminstall/redhat-9/updates.db"

    but it don't work propertly ebcause it don't fix the problem :s

    any body hav and idea, of how to fix it?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Unless you want to spend a great deal of time and effort recreating everything in /var (some of which you probably won't be able to) then you're going to have to have an OS restore performed on the server and then restore your cPanel users from backup - you do have a backup, don't you?
     
  3. ThaMATRiX

    ThaMATRiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    I did this a week and a half ago, it cost me $90 for the datacenter to reinstall the os and cpanel. its needed.
     
  4. djmerlyn

    djmerlyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. ThaMATRiX

    ThaMATRiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yea. Thanks. I was actually in the middle of a command, and pressed enter by accident.
    it started with
    rm -rf * [DIDNT FINISH THIS PART YET]

    :\
     
  6. djmerlyn

    djmerlyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's ok, my first botching was in SSH...

    I accidentalty chowned and chattrd everything 777 and root.root then deleted everything in the /home partition...

    There was no way to fix without a reload :)

    Needless to say, I felt like a dumbass :)
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's so easily done. You usually realise what's happening when you think "Why is it taking so long to delete a handful of files?...Oooooooooh shiiiiiiit...[ctrl-c]...<very long pause>". It happens to us all. Sadly, at least once ;)
     
  8. ThaMATRiX

    ThaMATRiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    thats EXACTLY what my thought proccess did... is your wife miss cleo?
     
  9. R_15

    R_15 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i do rm -rf * when i was on /var because i was thinking thati was on /var/log

    and it delete everything :s

    i don't know how to reinstall the OS with out been in real life next to the pc xD

    i have the idea to upload all the files in my /var on my pc to the server

    but the ssh2 don't work :'(

    so my only chance is pay the $65 for the rstore??
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yes. It's a hard lesson to learn, especially when it costs you money, but it simply is not worth you even trying to fix.
     
  11. ThaMATRiX

    ThaMATRiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yea, usually you need to be with the server to do it. Just pay the datacenter to do it. :\
    its a hard lesson.
    if you have customers, i'd recommend you don't tell them what you did.
    tell them rather that it was a hard drive failure or something?
     
  12. djmerlyn

    djmerlyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What I learned, is that it's worth my reload money...to be a lot more carefull :)

    I take the family out to dinner instead :D
     
  13. R_15

    R_15 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeap, i'm not a webhosting comany

    the server is for my website and some frinds websites we realise that was cheaper buy a dedicated server than a webhosting.

    so it's okay if they know the true , also theya lready know xD
     
  14. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Gosh! What a terrible lie! And an excellent suggestion :)
     
  15. cyberrob

    cyberrob Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That is a blatent lie and I could never tell such a lie to my clients, I would have said "Server problems due to a major bug in the red hat opperating system outwith our control" i.e. the opperating cannot opperate correctly without essential system files! :D
     
  16. ThaMATRiX

    ThaMATRiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    lol either way, dont tell them that you deleted the hard drive and thats why their going to be having downtime.. thats the fastest way to lose customers.
     
  17. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Best to tell them the truth, give them an accurate idea of when you will have them back and running too.

    Why lie to them? Just fess up your mistake and your clients will be somewhat more appreciative in the end.
     
  18. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Reminds me of my big mistake when I was new to shell.

    Had a temporary directory
    /temp

    Wanted to delete it
    cd /
    rm -rf temp *

    I just watched the lines fly down the screen and had to have a reinstall. :eek: Good thing it was only for personal use at that time. ;)

    Shell commands can be fun when you are first learning. ;) :rolleyes:
     
Loading...

Share This Page