The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very Slow VPS: Disk Seems Fast

Discussion in 'CloudLinux' started by TCB13, Jul 18, 2015.

  1. TCB13

    TCB13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I've been trying to solve an issue at my VPS. The VPS runs WHM optimized with CL and has 3 x 2.5 Ghz CPU cores. A total of 6 GB of RAM + 1 of Swap.
    My load averages are something like: 0.19 0.13 0.11.

    I tested the HD and got this great result:

    Code:
    [~]# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync
    16384+0 registos dentro
    16384+0 registos fora
    1073741824 bytes (1,1 GB) copiados, 2,89149 s, 371 MB/s
    However all my websites take about 4 to 5s to open, I'm on a optic fiber internet and I don't have any issues with other websites.

    Here is my Apache status:

    Code:
    Current Time: Saturday, 18-Jul-2015 17:52:34 CEST
    Restart Time: Sunday, 21-Jun-2015 16:54:32 CEST
    Parent Server Config. Generation: 41
    Parent Server MPM Generation: 40
    Server uptime: 27 days 58 minutes 2 seconds
    Server load: 0.09 0.11 0.09
    Total accesses: 8446099 - Total Traffic: 389.1 GB
    CPU Usage: u509.92 s496.77 cu.7 cs.5 - .0431% CPU load
    3.62 requests/sec - 174.6 kB/second - 48.3 kB/request
    8 requests currently being processed, 53 idle workers
    I enabled OPCache and I noticed that as soon as a website is on cache, it opens instantaneously, however if the cache is disabled it takes 4-5 seconds.

    I notice this performance issues with all websites, most of them are simple Wordpress installations without plugins or anything that could actually cause real issues.

    How can I find the cause of this issue? And fix it? It looks like the I/O performance is good and apache has enough workers to take care of things, however it doesn't work fine.

    Thank you.
     
    #1 TCB13, Jul 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. TCB13

    TCB13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well I've done that in the past. I increased my I/O limits on LVE and now everything seems to work fine.

    Apparently my I/O limits were to low to handle wordpress.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

Share This Page