The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very strange situation here, very ... very ??!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mike B, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. Mike B

    Mike B Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I create a few accounts in my WHM pannel.
    After I ftp's all data to each Cpanel account.
    After that I change the DNS from my registrar company and I point the dns info to this new server.

    After a while I checked from home and those pages are running correct.

    But the problem is comming :
    When I come back to work and try those links none of them are working to the new server. If I try to load again the page it will load only from the old server and nothing to the new one I just created.

    Everybody from my company has the same prolbem, cannot access the new webpage who resides on the new server.

    From outsite people are seeing the new webpage correctly and not like us form the old server.

    Looks like is something to do with our IP but ... I'm very confused now and I'm not sure from where should I start my investigation.


    Thank you in advance for help :)
     
    #1 Mike B, Jan 31, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2007
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How long ago did you update the DNS settings with your registrar? It can take up to 72 hours (sometimes even longer) for the new settings to propagate through the Internet to every ISP.
     
  3. Mike B

    Mike B Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I changed the DNS settings last Monday, but I can't remember what time though.
     
  4. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    You might want to check to see if your viewing cached pages on your work machine. Start by checking if the old pages are cached on your works proxy.

    Chriz
     
  5. Mike B

    Mike B Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I clean everything is possible in my machine, cache , hystory, old files, and so on, but nothing changed. And then I tried this on many other computers from my company, and I got the same result, all are pointing to the old webpages on old server.
     
  6. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does your company use a proxy server? You might want to check the cache on that
     
  7. Mike B

    Mike B Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No we are not using any proxy server here.
     
  8. JGrubbs

    JGrubbs Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had this problem the other day with two accounts.

    I set up the account in WHM
    Uploaded all the files using FTP
    Updated the nameservers at the registrar

    The page would load okay without the www. but with the www. it was going to the old "parked domain" page for the registrar. I couldn't figure it out until I ran a DNS report (http://www.dnsreport.com/) and found out that the domain had both the old nameservers and the new nameservers coming back in the DNS report.

    The problem was resolved by editing the DNS zone for these two accounts to replace the old nameserver info with the new nameserver info. It appears that when I set up the account in WHM, that WHM did a DNS lookup on the new domain and pulled the current nameserver settings into the DNS zone.
     
Loading...

Share This Page