The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very upset - phpmychat

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NuovoVesuvio, May 6, 2007.

  1. NuovoVesuvio

    NuovoVesuvio Registered

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :( phpmychat is seriously important for me right now - and it does not work, due to me having deleted a user from the mysqldatabase panel. I was trying to figure out how to make an admin or find my old admin password because the phpmychat icon doesn't work when i click it, it says this:

    cPAddon cPanel::Chat::phpMyChat

    This is a modified cPanel module. Please contact the maintainer for support. (v0.1)

    Website http://phpmychat.sourceforge.net/

    Sorry modified cPanel addons are not allowed, contact your server admin for more info.


    And this is what it says when i try to log into the chatroom, i.e. when pressing enter on the pre-chatroom phpmychat screen:

    Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'rafie_mychat3'@'localhost' (using password: YES) in /home/rafie/public_html/chat/chat/lib/database/mysql.lib.php3 on line 26
    Database error: Link_ID == false, connect failed
    MySQL error: 0 ()
    Session halted.



    PLEASE HELP ME.
    Any thoughts are much appreciated.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should be contacting your host about this...

    If you deleted the user for the databse for the chatroom, open the config.php, settings.php or whatever its called in the chat directory and locate the user_name and database_name and password from there. Then readd the user in cPanel to the chat database. Or, create a new user and password and add those to the config.php for the chat.

    That said, not too sure the chat is even secure to use any longer. Hasn't been updated in some time AFAIK.
     
  3. NuovoVesuvio

    NuovoVesuvio Registered

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, I did, and I thought it'd work but it came up with this:

    Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'rafie_mychat3'@'localhost' (using password: YES) in /home/rafie/public_html/chat/chat/lib/database/mysql.lib.php3 on line 26
    Database error: Link_ID == false, connect failed
    MySQL error: 0 ()
    Session halted.


    And it keeps coming up with that no matter how many angles i approach it at! How to tackle this exact problem please? I've been working at it all morning and afternoon but no luck. I need it up soon...

    Thank you for your time.
     
  4. NuovoVesuvio

    NuovoVesuvio Registered

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    function connect()
    {
    if($this->Link_ID == 0)
    {
    $this->Link_ID = mysql_connect($this->Host, $this->User, $this->Password);
    if (!$this->Link_ID)
    {
    $this->halt("Link_ID == false, connect failed");
    }
    $SelectResult = mysql_select_db($this->Database, $this->Link_ID);
    if(!$SelectResult)
    {



    ^Above, line 26 is $this->Link_ID = mysql_connect($this->Host, $this->User, $this->Password);.

    Please help!
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It appears the details are incorrect on one end or the other.

    Try this. Go to MySQL area in cPanel and find under the database name, the username. Is it showing? If not scroll to bottom and make sure to add the user you created again, to the database mychat3.

    fyi:

    When you add a user there, you don't add it like this: rafie_mychat3
    You simple add this: mychat3

    cPanel will call it: rafie_mychat3

    Once you have a user, password and the database details, in your config file for the chat add them properly.

    edit


    Downloaded the chatplus package and had a peek. the file is called config.lib.php in this one that holds the database stuff.

    define("C_DB_NAME", 'plus');
    define("C_DB_USER", 'username');
    define("C_DB_PASS", 'password');

    So they should probably be:

    define("C_DB_NAME", 'you_yourdatabasename');
    define("C_DB_USER", 'you_yourdatabaseusername');
    define("C_DB_PASS", 'yourdatabseepasswordpassword');
     
Loading...

Share This Page