The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VIM Urgent

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackal, Jun 25, 2003.

  1. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Top Process %CPU 61.6 vim theme.php
    Top Process %CPU 61.4 vim theme.php
    Top Process %CPU 61.1 vim theme.php
    User has not exited out properly How do I turn this off//



    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 jackal, Jun 25, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2003
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I believe you can cancel that process from WHM.
    Under System Health:
    Show Current CPU Usage
    Then click on the PID and then click on "Kill Process"

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It does not show vim running there are the user

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In ssh you can:
    killall -9 theme.php

    Or- if you can figure out the pids (buy ps or top)
    kill -9 pid number

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I ran killall -9 theme.php it came back

    theme.php: no process killed
    but yet in whm under Server Status-CPU/Memory/MySQL Usage
    it shows this still

    Top Process %CPU 61.6 vim theme.php
    Top Process %CPU 61.4 vim theme.php
    Top Process %CPU 61.1 vim theme.php

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    kill vim not the php file

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Being as VIM can only be run/used from SHELL, of what good is it to turn it off? Unless you disable their SHELL access, or teach how them how to turn it off and make sure they always do, you will run into this problem over 'n over.

    To kill it you must first find the process number, run: ps -xla

    Then look (on the far right) for 'vim theme.php'
    Now start on the left and count 4 columns over. There you will see the process number and you can do a kill -9.

    kill -9 psnumber >> Enter

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #7 Website Rob, Jun 25, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2003
  8. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ran killall -9 vim

    it came back and said no process's but yet it still shows the same thing as in the first post here.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Must be a bug in WHM,
    I ran this from SSH ps -xla it does not show that process vim theme.php anywhere on the list but yet when I go to Whm here

    Server Status-CPU/Memory/MySQL Usage it still shows that process.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As VIM can only be run from within SHELL (AFAIK) then I would dis-regard what WHM and go by what TOP says. Even in TOP (if it is showing) there should be a process number somewhere in the first column for VIM -- but not always, which is why one uses ps -xla -- which gives you a starting place for a process number.

    And if it doesn't show a VIM process (using ps -xla) plus your TOP doesn't show it and your Server CPU states are just fine (i.e., CPU idle is 90% or better), then I wouldn't worry.
     
    #10 Website Rob, Jun 25, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2003
  11. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What would cron be for this ?



    Want to run this every hour

    */58 * * * path/to/vim killall -9 vim

    is that correct?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

Share This Page