Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

virtfs eating up diskspace

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by toffe, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. toffe

    toffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Somehow the /home/virtfs folder is growing bigger and I´m soon out of diskspace. What is it for? Look at the screenshot that is attached.

    Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 20.10.56.png Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 20.38.22.png
     
  2. toffe

    toffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The disk useage is now very critical. I think it is the backup files, but they are not located in /home/backups. How can I locate them?
     
  3. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The /home/virtfs consists of bind mounts. It's not actually taking up disk space, but will show up as used disk space when you use du. Don't delete or mess with the /home/virtfs directory, doing so will severely damage your server.

    Your backups are probably in /backup although I cannot be certain. Your drive is partitioned in such a way that / is the only partition, and everything is under / except for /mnt/sdb which has /dev/sdb mounted.
     
    cPWilliamL likes this.
  4. toffe

    toffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for your answer. I have no idea what is eating up the diskspace. When I look in the cpanel itemjungle is just 8.57gb not 18gb when I look in virtfs. Same goes with the user nordcart
     
  5. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just ignore /home/virtfs

    The screenshot you have shows /home/itemjungle using 8.3GB that lines up pretty close to the 8.57GB you are saying shows up in itemjungle's cPanel (I would suspect that you ran another du -shc /home/itemjungle it would show 8.6GB)
     
  6. toffe

    toffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I add them together I come nowhere near 37gb. I´m adding a screenshot of "/" size
     

    Attached Files:

  7. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you excluding virtfs? For example
    Code:
    du --exclude=/home/virtfs -sh /home/
    
    As sparek pointed out, you should simply ignore the virtfs directory; it's a virtual filesystem used for jail shell. As it is a bind mount deleting contents in virtfs will delete your actual data. The documentation below may also be helpful:
    VirtFS - Jailed Shell - Documentation - cPanel Documentation
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    du -shc /home is adding up /home and including /home/virtfs

    But /home/virtfs is a bind mount. It's not really taking up disk space. It's mirroring files that already exist on the file system. But du is not able to differentiate this - and it's not suppose to.

    If you REALLY want to know how much disk space is being used in /home then run

    du -shc /home

    Then run

    du -shc /home/virtfs

    Take the total from the du -shc /home command and subtract the total from du -shc /home/virtfs

    Bottom line: you just have to ignore /home/virtfs

    Edit: @cPWilliamL's command is probably better.
     
  9. toffe

    toffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, this does still not add up to 33gb. If nordcart is 1gb, itemjungle 8.3gb and whm&cpanel 5gb? Where is the rest. I´m currently out of disk space
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The following document offers some helpful commands to use to determine where the space is coming from:

    How to Manage your Hard Drive Space - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Also, is this a VPS? If so, check with your VPS provider to make sure it's not the hardware node itself that's limited on space.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What does

    du -shc --exclude=/home/virtfs --exclude=/mnt/sdb --exclude=/proc /*

    show?

    You may need to invest in a server administrator to look into this for you.

    You will have to systematically go through the directories on your server to find the largest ones and narrowing that down through each iteration.
     
  12. toffe

    toffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hi that command gives me:
    du -shc --exclude=/home/virtfs --exclude=/mnt/sdb --exclude=/proc /*
    12K /aquota.user
    7.4M /bin
    174M /boot
    4.0K /cgroup
    164K /dev
    33M /etc
    11G /home
    658M /lib
    27M /lib64
    16K /lost+found
    4.0K /media
    8.0K /mnt
    142M /opt
    4.0K /razor-agent.log
    21M /root
    8.0K /run
    16M /sbin
    0 /scripts
    4.0K /selinux
    4.0K /srv
    0 /sys
    932K /tmp
    6.3G /usr
    2.6G /var
    21G total

    There is now 33gb used of 50gb on the disk. (screenshot attached)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Were you able to check with your VPS provider to make sure it's not the hardware node itself that's limited on space (per my last response)?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. toffe

    toffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think I found the solution. For some reason my additional disk gets unmounted now and then (mnt/sdb) which contains my backupfiles. When the additional disk gets unmounted, backups are still saved to mnt/sdb, but will then be on the main disk.

    When I mount the disk again these files in mnt/sdb on the main disk, will be hidden
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    In "WHM >> Backup Configuration", this is controllable with the following option:

    Mount Backup Drive as Needed

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice