The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virus Detected; File not Uploaded! (No such file or directory)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by smileylolo, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. smileylolo

    smileylolo Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Everyone,

    I've come across something new today that I'm hoping someone can shed some light on please! (Google hasn't been that helpful in this regard or perhaps I'm using the wrong search terms!)...

    Basically today I tried to upload .swf files to my website and I received the cpanel message:
    cpanel Virus Detected; File not Uploaded! (No such file or directory)

    I scanned the files with Symantec and they appeared fine.. they run as expected... so I uploaded the files via ftp.

    Once uploaded, they could not be viewed.
    www.mywebsite.com/myfile.swf

    yielded a completely white page. No error message. No content! The error console for firefox was completely blank. No clue as to what was going on. In Safari the activity log showed that the flash file had loaded but was just not displaying. Even embedded in an html page these .swf files could not be viewed at all!

    Has anyone else come across this? Or do they know how to fix it?

    I later discovered that all the cpanels on all my sites are behaving this way for all files - even text files...

    Advice greatly appreciated!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may want to contact your hosting provider about this. It seems they are using a plugin to our software to automatically scan all files as they are uploaded (a functionality not native to cPanel/WHM). Perhaps whatever third-party plugin they are using is causing this issue.
     
  3. nzservers

    nzservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the same problem on 1 server for all accounts, what else could be causing this?
     
  4. nzservers

    nzservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The text "Virus Detected;" is in /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel so it is generated by cpanel, how can I turn this off???
     
  5. presoonjohn

    presoonjohn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Clamav is the issue....

    Go to WHM, > cPanel > Mange Plugins > uninstall clamavconnector.

    That should fix the issue.

    Presoon.
     
  6. riteme

    riteme Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Having the same porblem

    First, there is no Manage Plugins and no uninstall clamavconnector.
    All i have is just a list of the plugins and all it says when you pick Clam AV is-- it is installed.
    Now what?
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have root access to the server or just reseller access? If you only have reseller access, you will not see the Manage Plugins link in the cPanel section of the WHM interface.
     
  8. riteme

    riteme Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    virus detected etc.

    I only have reseller access. So will i have to contact my provider?
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you will need to contact your provider.
     
  10. TapanB

    TapanB Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    This has worked but what about the virus coming in now ? How to stop that ?

    Thanks.
     
  11. aneesh.r

    aneesh.r Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No need to uninstall clamd pluggin

    Hello guys,

    There is no need to uninstall the clamd connector.
    In order to diagnose the issue, you need to check the clamd logs. It can be seen at
    /var/log/clamd.log. In my case the error was due to the exceeded file size for clamd.log.
    So just create a new clamd.log file and restart the clamd service using /scripts/restartsrv_clamd . Then try, the issue would be fixed :)

    -aneesh
     
Loading...

Share This Page