Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

VNC Viewer and VNC Connect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by arjanvr, Mar 14, 2017.

  1. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was asked by a client to install VNC Viewer and VNC Connect on a live cpanel vps where there are also other clients. Will this cause issues or can i do this without any problems?

    If not, is there an alternative that can be concidered here?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    You should be able to install those packages without interfering with existing services, however you may want to closely monitor the resource usage these applications utilize to ensure it doesn't overload your system.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok thank you.
    For centos i should use generic?
    realvnc.com/download/vnc/linux/

    How many resources can such a thing take up if thats possible to say
     
    #3 arjanvr, Mar 14, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2017
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    It looks like you could choose RPM and then install the downloaded RPM, but you would need to consult with the installation instructions offered in their documentation. It's difficult to know how much resources it would use. You may want to consult with a qualified system administrator for help with the installation and troubleshooting any issues that arise, as this is a third-party application that's unsupported:

    System Administration Services | cPanel Forums

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice