The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vnc

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fearbr2, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. fearbr2

    fearbr2 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello guys!! How are you doing?! Hope that you're all fine ;D I'm here with a problem on my dedicated server. I've searched for VNC to install, installed it and everything looks normal but i have a major problem because i don't know how can i connect to my box you know?! I've tried to connect using VNC and always the same message appears: "Connection refused", like i've never installed or something like that. Is there any way to help me with this?! I thought that when you install that RPM's you can manage them with a button or something, located in a session but these button doesn't exists. Please, i need to control my dedicated server remotely and visually. Information: I'm on Windows XP SP2 and my box is running Linux, i'm using cPanel and WMH, maybe if i can try with Linux too or doesn't matter?! Thank you so much! I'm waiting for some answers ;)
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Your cPanel-based dedicated server isn't running a GUI-based desktop environment and so a VNC session is not relevant or practical.

    You'll be able to remotely manage your server via a command line interface only, assuming you're looking for control external to WHM/cPanel. For this an SSH session is needed.

    Download putty and give it a go: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/
     
  3. fearbr2

    fearbr2 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks ;D

    Ahhhhhhhh i see, so there's nothing that i can do right?! But and if i could issue a command that installs a BitTorrent client program? Then i could use the connection of my dedicated server to download some torrent files and distribute right?! Do you know if i can do it?! Thanks again for answered my question so quickly!!
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes, I imagine you could install and use a command-line BT client. You'd have to ensure your server's firewall allows connections to the required ports.

    However, running such software on your server will most likely substantially reduce the quality of your hosting services.
     
  5. NightStorm

    NightStorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There are web-based Torrent clients available that run through php and sockets (do a google search for torrentflux). Of course, along with reducing the webhosting quality, it may also result in an unplug, since various P2P programs fall under the Ev1 AUP policy.. often under other datacenters as well. So proceed with caution, and have that proof on hand that shows you're allowed to share the files... Abuse Teams are a picky bunch of people and quick to judge, slow to investigate.
    Of course, if you own the box yourself, then the second point is moot.
     

Share This Page