Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

VPS for dummies

Discussion in 'Security' started by notarocketscientist, Jan 25, 2018.

1. notarocketscientist

notarocketscientist Active Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    Being I am a noob to VPS and need some learning tools, I am wondering what the best book, website, or even Udemy course would be for me. I asked on a few other forums and the answers are either "pay for help" or "we don't know". Now I googled the title of the post and found many hits on what I need. But some good recommendations would be appreciated. Like what are the most important 2 or 3 things I need to set up in the security of my VPS? I already have the AV software set up but what about firewalls or ??
    Thank you,
    NARS

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is a great place to start:
    WebHost Manager - WHM User Documentation - Version 68 Documentation - cPanel Documentation

Using the search tool top right corner of that page to search for Security, you find this top hit:
    Security - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

On that page is a list of important links you may or may not need now, but might in the future so it's good to have a look around at them.

One of the links there is this one:
    Tips to Make Your Server More Secure - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

You'll also find that by searching these forums when something comes up that you're unsure of on your server, that someone else has probably been there before you and there's a post about it here on these forums. :)

HTH!

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    notarocketscientist likes this.
  3. notarocketscientist