The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VPS. hostname, root website and email

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by wagnerpk, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. wagnerpk

    wagnerpk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi! I was a reseller. Tired of recurring errors, I changed to a VPS witj CentOS. And I installed cPanel/WHM.

    When I was a reseller, there was the "myresellerdomain.com". And there was WHM and cPanel acces for "myresellerdomain.com". So, in wizard setup of cPanel/WHM, I typed "vps.myresellerdomain.com" as hostname, 'cause the wizard said that "myresellerdomain.com" is a bad name.

    After installation, there wasn't no account for "myresellerdomain.com" in cPanel (like was in my old reseller plan). I tried to create an account in WHM for "myresellerdomain.com" but the sytem didn't created, 'cause 'that account already exists'. So, I discovered searching web that I needed to insert my "myresellerdomain.com" html files inside: "/usr/local/apache/htdocs". And it worked.

    QUESTIONS

    Is that all right?

    And what about an email account for "myresellerdomain.com"? For example, I would like to create "contact@myresellerdomain.com". How can I do it?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, you wouldn't want to place the files into /usr/local/apache/htdocs since this is your main domain from what it sounds like.

    You would want to create a cPanel account with myresellerdomain.com and, if you weren't able to create that account, please post the results of this command:

    Code:
    /scripts/whoowns myresellerdomain.com
    This would be run in root SSH command line to see what account user owns that domain or why it wouldn't allow you to add the domain in WHM > Create a New Account area.
     
  3. wagnerpk

    wagnerpk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, I open Putty, enter as root, type the comand and nothing happens, just jump to bellow line:


    Code:
    login as: root
    Access denied
    root@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx's password:
    Last login: Sun Nov  6 15:23:31 2011 from xxx.net.br
    root@vps [~]# /scripts/whoowns xxx.com
    
    root@vps [~]#
     
  4. wagnerpk

    wagnerpk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi. Nothing happens:

    Code:
    login as: root
    Access denied
    root@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx's password:
    Last login: Sun Nov  6 15:31:18 2011 from xxx-xxx-xxx-xxx.gateway.com
    root@vps [~]# /scripts/whoowns myresellerdomain.com
    
    root@vps [~]#
     
  5. wagnerpk

    wagnerpk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nothing happens. Just jump to line bellow.

    login as: root
    Access denied
    root@1x8.2x7.1x1.2x1's password:
    Last login: Sun Nov 6 15:31:18 2011 from xxx-xxx-xxx-xxx.gateway.com
    root@vps [~]# /scripts/whoowns myresellerdomain.com

    root@vps [~]#
     
  6. milind

    milind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nasik (Maharashtra), India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please let us know the output of the command hostname from the shell of your VPS and also let us know the type of VPS i.e. you have Virtuozzo based VPS or some other technology.


    I would suggest you to go to list accounts and check if any accounts listed there. As you have mentioned that you signed up for a VPS and in VPS hosting you get a raw server without any accounts. So, after basic setup you need to migrate accounts or need to create accounts.

    You domain might be working after you have uploaded the content in /usr/local/apache/htdocs but thats not the proper solution as you have uploaded the files in Apache directory not the domain.
     
  7. wagnerpk

    wagnerpk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for all... I paid a little tax to the server host team and someone adjust config. I just know that he changed these followings files:

    exim.conf (add a line "system_filter=/etc/cpanel_exim_system_filter")
    local.domains (added ns1/2 DNS servers and deleted main "myresellerdomain.com")
    remote.domains (was empty)

    I don't know if he changed some more things, but now its working.
     
Loading...

Share This Page