Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vps license requirement

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by parisdns, May 28, 2008.

  1. parisdns

    parisdns Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    PrivateLayer.com
    Just want to know if we can install it under OpenVZ & xen ? Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,277
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you can install cPanel/WHM on an IP with a VPS license on OpenVZ or Xen.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,277
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, VPS licensing is intended for physical servers running 3 or more instances of cPanel/WHM on them.
     
  4. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In a different thread I read something about you need to install three or more vps licenses on a server.Is that true?
     
  5. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I rent a plain VPS without a controlpanel because the provider in Europe isn't offering Cpanel but Plesk I cannot legally buy a VPS license on my own. And since the provider isn't interested in adding another Controlpanel I cannot buy the license via them. Even if I buy three licences I won't be able to force the provider to install them on one hardware machine.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,277
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Drop me an email to sales@cpanel.net so we can work something out :).
     
Loading...

Share This Page