The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"VPS Optimized" at the top of WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nitratec02, Apr 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nitratec02

    Nitratec02 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    How do I remove the bit at the top of WHM that says VPS Optimized, I don't want this there, I would prefer it if it just said WHM.


    Thanks,
     
  2. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    if its done by any third party script you can have it removed else i don't think you can alter the name.
     
  3. hydra

    hydra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Hi,

    I see it in CPanel interface to now.
    Don't know if i like it:eek:

    Ronald.
     
  4. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    people might have a problem with it ..if they do not want customers knowing it's a VPS. But it's a VPS ..along with the other 2 VPS's that need to be on that phsical server for it to be legit.
     
  5. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its a VPS so it should say that and you shouldn't try to hide that its a vps from your clients anyway.
     
  6. YukonMaster

    YukonMaster Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/themes/x/logo_vps.jpg is where the top VPS image is located. You can just replace it with the regular image.
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To those that desire to hide this information from your clients: please take a class on Ethics.


    Please note: the above message does not constitute an official position of cPanel, Inc. It is merely my personal opinion based upon the reasons many express about the "VPS Optimized" logo.
     
    #7 cPanelKenneth, Apr 28, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  8. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    those same people might be the ones that get upset when their cPanel's stop working once the 3 VPS's per phsical server rule is enforced :eek:
     
  9. markfrompf

    markfrompf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Exactly my thoughts. Come on, people. It's almost an insult to those of us with server bills that are several thousand dollars per month.
     
  10. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Had a couple of accounts that were sold, they were backup accounts. I was told we were being migrated to a beefier server. Once done, I noticed the VPS optimized. Kind of interesting, no big deal to me since they were backup accounts but it was not what I originally signed up for. I guess they could own the server and just be setting up different containers, but I doubt it.
     
  11. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    you can bet they are either running 1 VPS on a full server and getting cPanel cheaper ..or even worst in your case ..selling you a dedicated machine and you are one of 4-10 "dedicated" servers inside that one dedicated server. either way ..something it's being disclosed to you.
     
  12. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If it wasnt just a backup account I would not be happy with the new owners. I had thought about running 1 VPS container instead of having dedicated servers (Never thought about the price of cpanel) but mainly to backup the whole thing. I would disclose this to my customers if I went that way.
     
  13. weetabix

    weetabix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    why is it necessary to advertise to the customers that they are on a vps or not?
     
  14. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Our belief is that the customer should know what they are buying/renting. It is neccessary! Not telling is like saying, what does it matter if the car is a V8 or V6, it is for sale if you like the color buy it. VPS's can have some odd restrictions on number of files allowed etc...The customer should know the bottom line of what they are buying. Would you buy a dedicated server from a company that would not tell you how much disk space and ram it had? To me it is the same thing.
     
  15. hydra

    hydra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Hi,

    I am running CPanel in a VPS.
    I use VPS because it is very easy to copy the vps image to another server. I have a quad core Xeon 3Ghz with 4 Gig and RAID 5
    This server has cost me a small fortune.
    I run 1 VPS on it because it is easier to backup (snapshots)and move (migrate to new server)if something bad happens.
    So my 1 VPS has the complete server available.
    I also have paid for the full version of CPanel.
    So i really don't get it why i should be in need of an ethics class.
    I know of hosting company's who run on Pentium 4 with software raid and :eek:800+ domains on it.
    So they are morally correct and i am morally wrong in wanting the VPS optimized logo removed.:confused:

    Ronald
     
    MaraBlue likes this.
  16. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is educating your customers not an option ? They should be able to understand - and appreciate - your choice :)
     
  17. hydra

    hydra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Hi,

    Of course it is. I may even go so far as saying that it is not a big deal for me if the logo stays as it is.
    I just question the comments about ethics classes and how unfair it would be for webhosters with big bills. :confused:
    I think that there are some of us who use vps because it is very useful and not use it to cramp as much vps's as possible on one machine.

    But your suggestion is sound so i will make a Faq for my users explaining why they are on a VPS server, most of them will probably don't know what the hell i'm talking about anyway, and leave the logo as is.

    Ronald
     
  18. jspalding

    jspalding Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There might be ethics and morals involved, but surely its not cPanels place to say this?
     
  19. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As I said above, I have thought before about running 1 VPS on our servers just for those reasons you state. As a matter of fact, we have been running a test for the past 45 days or so to see how that works out. :rolleyes:

    If you had a major crash :eek: with easyapache or something BAM your right back in business instead of trying to sort out the error while the phone is ringing, once the site is restored your team can then spend the time tracking the error.

    My point was just this; if that is the way it is set up just post it somewhere, a spec's page for your server. I think the impression was someone was trying to hide that, whether they were or not I have no clue. It could have been someone jumping conclusions without knowing the whole story.

    But when the discussion turned to should this be disclosed or not I have to say yes. I think if it was disclosed the graphic really does not matter. I think if it is hidden from a customer it would be unethical. My $0.02. :)

    I think the whole ideal of ethics is not to tell a customer you’re running a quad core duo core 8X processor with 16 gigs of memory when in reality that might be the server you’re on with a dozen VPS containers running, that would be misleading.

    When those backup accounts, I spoke about, were migrated, I asked why we were being put on a VPS and the response was just about what just about what I said above, it is a 8X processing cores with 16GBs of memory and 10X173GB drives etc..., something along those lines. The question about the VPS was not answered. I am not going to fight with them about it or question their ethics but you can guess what I am going to do. :mad:

    Just something we should all as responsible ethical hosts should think about. I did not accuse anyone about being ethical, just chimed in with my own opinion about whether or not this graphic should be replaced.
     
  20. pross

    pross Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I dont mind having the VPS logo at the top, there are only 2 VPS's per machine with my current provider and thats 1G memory and 80G space, and the memory is dedicated, so its pretty much entry level dedicated machine anyway, none of my clients have said anything.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page