The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VPS setup?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by itsmesee, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. itsmesee

    itsmesee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there no Server admin area with the whm to setup whm/cpanel across multiple vps on the server?

    Or do you have to manually create the vps in centos and then install whm/cpanel to each vps??
     
  2. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    "Or do you have to manually create the vps in centos and then install whm/cpanel to each vps??"

    That correct.
     
  3. itsmesee

    itsmesee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    wow, needed new feature maybe...

    Whats a good prog to help with creation of vps on servers that might work well with cpanel?
    I did a search but all i find is vps hosting sites,
     
  4. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    cpanel can be installed on any VPS with supported O/S. REgards what software can help you create VPS itself itcan recommend hypervm.com it's easy and useful.
     
  5. itsmesee

    itsmesee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks, i will probably just go automated for all virtual and resellers and manually do the vps... I could always pre-setup a few vps to have on standby for orders i suppose too.


    Thanks
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    an even better idea will be to setup a vps, install cpanel and get it ready. say.. the ID is 102

    use:

    vzmlocal -C 102:<NEW_ID>

    from the node.

    this will copy the vps 102 to the new VID. All you got to do is to change the basic cpanel settings from your WHM and start using it.
     
  7. itsmesee

    itsmesee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    not sure what you mean?
     
  8. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i was explaining the way to create a new VPS without having to reinstall cpanel all the time. the commands i mentioned has to be issued from inside the central node.
     
    #8 linux-image, Nov 27, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2007
  9. itsmesee

    itsmesee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    oh..

    Sorry, didnt catch what you where trying to say.. im not a linux guy:( Buying a control panel for a linux server though, go figure.
     
  10. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Basically he is saying, once you get cpanel installed on a vps, just copy the entire account to another vps ID and that saves the trouble of installing cpanel on each new vps account.

    Of course I save an empty account as a template. You wouldn't want to mirror an account that has been used for some time obviously.
     
Loading...

Share This Page