The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VPS- update fails because of missing smartmontools, why?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Wabun, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am running a VPS, have a VPS cPanel license, why the heck do I need smartmontools?

    cPanel remove this requirement for a VPS, the underlying hardware is having raid controllers.
    They run on on a virtual disk, what the heck you want to scan for on a virtual disk?

    Please remove that requirement.

    [2015-07-22 11:28:43 +0100] E Sysup: Needed system RPMs were not installed: smartmontools
    [2015-07-22 11:28:43 +0100] ***** FATAL: Cannot proceed. Needed system RPMs were not installed.
    [2015-07-22 11:28:43 +0100] The Administrator will be notified to review this output when this script completes
    => Log closed Wed Jul 22 11:28:43 2015


    From the smartmontools website:

    Do smartctl and smartd run on a virtual machine guest OS?
    Yes and no. Smartctl and smartd run on a virtual machine guest OS without problems. But this isn't very useful because the virtual disks do not support SMART. If a guest OS disk is configured as a raw disk, this only means that its sectors are mapped transparently to the underlying physical disk. This does not imply the ATA or SCSI pass-through access required to access the SMART info of the physical disk. Even the disk's identity is typically not exposed to the guest OS.
     
    #1 Wabun, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The following change was implemented in cPanel version 11.50.0.4:

    Implemented case 170637: Removing smartmontools provided tar.gz, relying on yum RPMs to deliver.

    Essentially, it was always installed through cPanel in the past, and a change was made so that it was installed by your system package manager (YUM). You can still disable SMART errors via:

    Code:
    touch /var/cpanel/disablesmartcheck
    Thank you.
     
  3. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Thank you very much, I will run that script.

    It might be a good idea to run on a Dedicated server, but not on VPS's ;-)
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page