The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vServer with 4 cores has 100% CPU-Usage

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Thorsten H., Aug 1, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Thorsten H.

    Thorsten H. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there,
    since some weeks I have a problem with my vServer. If there are more than 8 running tasks the 4 cores are all showing 100% at htop. And that aren't the rough processes: 1 MySQL and 7 PHP processes. On the server there is a webshop running and all sites are dynamic.

    It hast 4 cores and 8 GB RAM. I'm running WHM 11.56 with EA4. I upgraded PHP to 5.6 worker with the following modules:
    Code:
    [LIST]
    [*]ea-apache24
    [*]ea-apache24-config
    [*]ea-apache24-config-runtime
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_bwlimited
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_cache
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_cgid
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_deflate
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_expires
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_headers
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_mpm_worker
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_proxy
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_proxy_http
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_security2
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_ssl
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_suexec
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_suphp
    [*]ea-apache24-mod_unique_id
    [*]ea-apache24-tools
    [*]ea-apr
    [*]ea-apr-util
    [*]ea-cpanel-tools
    [*]ea-documentroot
    [*]ea-libmcrypt
    [*]ea-php-cli
    [*]ea-php54-libc-client
    [*]ea-php54-pear
    [*]ea-php54-php-bcmath
    [*]ea-php54-php-calendar
    [*]ea-php54-php-cli
    [*]ea-php54-php-common
    [*]ea-php54-php-curl
    [*]ea-php54-php-devel
    [*]ea-php54-php-exif
    [*]ea-php54-php-ftp
    [*]ea-php54-php-gd
    [*]ea-php54-php-iconv
    [*]ea-php54-php-imap
    [*]ea-php54-php-ioncube
    [*]ea-php54-php-mbstring
    [*]ea-php54-php-mcrypt
    [*]ea-php54-php-mysqlnd
    [*]ea-php54-php-pdo
    [*]ea-php54-php-posix
    [*]ea-php54-php-soap
    [*]ea-php54-php-sockets
    [*]ea-php54-php-xml
    [*]ea-php54-php-zendguard
    [*]ea-php54-php-zip
    [*]ea-php54-runtime
    [*]ea-php55
    [*]ea-php55-libc-client
    [*]ea-php55-pear
    [*]ea-php55-php-bcmath
    [*]ea-php55-php-calendar
    [*]ea-php55-php-cli
    [*]ea-php55-php-common
    [*]ea-php55-php-curl
    [*]ea-php55-php-devel
    [*]ea-php55-php-exif
    [*]ea-php55-php-ftp
    [*]ea-php55-php-gd
    [*]ea-php55-php-imap
    [*]ea-php55-php-ioncube5
    [*]ea-php55-php-mcrypt
    [*]ea-php55-php-mysqlnd
    [*]ea-php55-php-pdo
    [*]ea-php55-php-posix
    [*]ea-php55-php-soap
    [*]ea-php55-php-sockets
    [*]ea-php55-php-xml
    [*]ea-php55-php-zendguard
    [*]ea-php55-php-zip
    [*]ea-php55-runtime
    [*]ea-php56
    [*]ea-php56-libc-client
    [*]ea-php56-pear
    [*]ea-php56-php-bcmath
    [*]ea-php56-php-calendar
    [*]ea-php56-php-cli
    [*]ea-php56-php-common
    [*]ea-php56-php-curl
    [*]ea-php56-php-devel
    [*]ea-php56-php-exif
    [*]ea-php56-php-fpm
    [*]ea-php56-php-ftp
    [*]ea-php56-php-gd
    [*]ea-php56-php-imap
    [*]ea-php56-php-ioncube5
    [*]ea-php56-php-mbstring
    [*]ea-php56-php-mcrypt
    [*]ea-php56-php-mysqlnd
    [*]ea-php56-php-pdo
    [*]ea-php56-php-posix
    [*]ea-php56-php-soap
    [*]ea-php56-php-sockets
    [*]ea-php56-php-xml
    [*]ea-php56-php-zendguard
    [*]ea-php56-php-zip
    [*]ea-php56-runtime
    [*]ea-php70
    [*]ea-php70-libc-client
    [*]ea-php70-pear
    [*]ea-php70-php-bcmath
    [*]ea-php70-php-calendar
    [*]ea-php70-php-cli
    [*]ea-php70-php-common
    [*]ea-php70-php-curl
    [*]ea-php70-php-devel
    [*]ea-php70-php-exif
    [*]ea-php70-php-fpm
    [*]ea-php70-php-ftp
    [*]ea-php70-php-gd
    [*]ea-php70-php-imap
    [*]ea-php70-php-mcrypt
    [*]ea-php70-php-opcache
    [*]ea-php70-php-posix
    [*]ea-php70-php-sockets
    [*]ea-php70-php-xml
    [*]ea-php70-php-zip
    [*]ea-php70-runtime
    [*]ea-profiles-cpanel
    [/LIST]
    
    So my question is, which modules do I need and which are just for special needs. I hope that there will be commented profile some times, so that I can read there if a modul is needed or additional.

    Regards
    Thorsten
     
    #1 Thorsten H., Aug 1, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 1, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The installation of PHP modules should not reduce your performance unless they are actually used. I suggest reviewing the following thread to get a better idea of what's actually utilizing the CPU:

    Troubleshooting high server loads on Linux servers

    Thank you.
     
  3. Thorsten H.

    Thorsten H. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your reply,

    but I know the answer way the cores are by 100%. Just take a look at the screenshot I have uploaded.

    The problem is, I don't know why the server uses such a lot of running threats for PHP. Google Analytics tells me in the same moment, that just 2 users are on the side. And the mysql-users are up to 150 - the WHM max.

    here you can visit the site: http://shop.eventfotografie24.de

    The other thing is, that I haven't changed anything - just automaticaly updated WHM.

    So I don't know what to do? Where to take the first look!

    Regards
    TH
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Anthony M

    Anthony M Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ireland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My server is in exactly the same predicament currently, i thought it was possibly the upgrade from ea3>ea4 a few weeks back and it was just a delayed issue kicking in that i may not have noticed, so rolled that back and it hasn't solved the issue.

    I've taken a screenshot but it's pretty much a carbon copy of your own, nothing has changed other than the automated cpanel updates running
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Thorsten H.

    Thorsten H. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried rebooting your server - there are 26 threats runing - its the same that I had. Rebooting has solved it.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you verify which PHP handler is in-use, and if it differs from the handler you used with EasyApache 3? You can check the current PHP handler with the following command:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current
    Thank you.
     
  7. Anthony M

    Anthony M Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ireland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did reboot it earlier and it ramped back up to 100 pretty much instantly

    5hrs later just checked it since i'm home and it's settled down to normal load and my traffic is at the same levels... i'd rather know what happened mind than just forget about

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current
    DEFAULT PHP: ea-php56
    ea-php54 SAPI: suphp
    ea-php55 SAPI: suphp
    ea-php56 SAPI: suphp

    and no i was using 56 previously and this back under ea3 i reverted earlier trying to solve the issue and haven't reupgraded yet
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you know if you were previously using suPHP? Does the issue continue if you temporarily switch to another PHP handler?

    Thank you.
     
  9. Anthony M

    Anthony M Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ireland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i was using suPHP yeah, haven't had the issue repeat since the other day, but i'm going run the ea3>ea4 upgrade again this weekend and i'll keep an eye on the load and if the issue replicates i'll switch to a different handler and let you know.
     
Loading...

Share This Page