The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

waiting for updated to finish

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rastoma, Feb 26, 2002.

  1. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After about 10 mins into the install of Cpanel, I get:

    Waiting for updated to finish


    that just scrolls down the screen... if i hit ctrl c it just stops and nothing has been installed.

    repeating cpanel install does same thing.

    what do i need to look at first?
     
  2. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so NO ONE has seen this error before?
     
  3. gorgo

    gorgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is this a cpanel update, or clean install?
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Copy the /scripts directory from a similar server.... put it in place in /scripts on the server that is experience this.

    Or try this:
    rsync -av rsync://rsync.cpanel.net/scripts /scripts


    It's just hanging because it had an issue copying files to /scripts on the new box in question........ permissions perhaps?
     
  5. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm having the same problem on EVERY server I've been installing cpanel on in the last 5 days.
     
  6. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:eb544311ad][i:eb544311ad]Originally posted by gorgo[/i:eb544311ad]

    is this a cpanel update, or clean install?[/quote:eb544311ad]

    clean install
     
  7. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that seems to be working... thanks.



    [quote:21306a11e9][i:21306a11e9]Originally posted by feanor[/i:21306a11e9]


    Copy the /scripts directory from a similar server.... put it in place in /scripts on the server that is experience this.

    Or try this:
    rsync -av rsync://rsync.cpanel.net/scripts /scripts


    It's just hanging because it had an issue copying files to /scripts on the new box in question........ permissions perhaps?
    [/quote:21306a11e9]
     
  8. csdjab

    csdjab Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    freezes on upgrading perl

    Hi. I am trying to test the new release beta. I have a clean install of redhat 6.2 on a raid 5 array (3) 18GB using dell openmanage cd on a poweredge 2450. I has either 512 or 1024 memory i forget and dont want to reboot again. I just tryed to rsync using the method posted. The problem is that it continues to freeze on the upgrading perl. It is installing again and will see if this continues. If you have seen this or know of a fix please let me know. Thanks

    Jeffrey
     
  9. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why are you using RH 6.2 ?
    Put 7.2 on there, it's working near perfect- especially if you are on a fresh install, definitely go with 7.2 right off the bat, you will save yourself mucho headaches in the future.

    RH 7.2 and filesystem type ext3

    If you still have freezes on installs/compiling you probably have bad memory or a bad RAID card, in all honesty. Or you installed RedHat from a faulty CD.
     
  10. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:d6b99464c0][i:d6b99464c0]Originally posted by csdjab[/i:d6b99464c0]

    Hi. I am trying to test the new release beta. I have a clean install of redhat 6.2 on a raid 5 array (3) 18GB using dell openmanage cd on a poweredge 2450. I has either 512 or 1024 memory i forget and dont want to reboot again. I just tryed to rsync using the method posted. The problem is that it continues to freeze on the upgrading perl. It is installing again and will see if this continues. If you have seen this or know of a fix please let me know. Thanks

    Jeffrey[/quote:d6b99464c0]

    Upgrading perl can take up to 30 mins .. its probably not frozen.. just give it some time.
     
  11. csdjab

    csdjab Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    frozen

    I left it overnight and it was still stuck. The reason im not using 7.2 is because the openmanage cd only does 6.2 or 7. I need this to make the kickstart disk which loads the raid.
     
  12. csdjab

    csdjab Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    err 11

    Hi. Now i get err (11) lockd failed. Then modprobe - cant locate module net-pf-10.

    Jeffrey
     
  13. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Bad memory or raid card- if you do simple installs of perl/etc and you restart (or maybe not even that), and you start getting modload errors, your machine is likely SOL from the start.

    I wouldn't waste more time with it
    Just in past experience, the way to go here is to start from scratch or you will be caught in a cycle that time forgot.
     
  14. csdjab

    csdjab Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    bad raid

    The system is not bad. It runs win 2000 server with raid fine. Maybe just should not run linux with the raid. Im going to install 7.2 with the raid and try but otherwise I will try it without. Anyone with suggestions let me know.
     
  15. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    One question for you. You don't use 7.2 because you need to make a kickstart file, right? Since when does 7.2 not support kickstart files? It also supports kickstart RAID partitioning. The simplest way might be to run 7.2 and just make a new kickstart file.
     
  16. koko

    koko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same problem

    I´m having this problem, but I can´t to sync the dir /scripts, because every time I try it the server says that max connections # has been reached.

    there are more server from where I can to sync the dir?


    [quote:d742e7c835][i:d742e7c835]Originally posted by feanor[/i:d742e7c835]


    Copy the /scripts directory from a similar server.... put it in place in /scripts on the server that is experience this.

    Or try this:
    rsync -av rsync://rsync.cpanel.net/scripts /scripts


    It's just hanging because it had an issue copying files to /scripts on the new box in question........ permissions perhaps?
    [/quote:d742e7c835]
     
Loading...

Share This Page