The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Walkthru for setting Postini w/CPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by smartcap, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. smartcap

    smartcap Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Are there a step -by-step instruction on how to configure Postini w/CPanel?
    s
     
  2. lbeachmike

    lbeachmike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Beach, NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I too am having problems getting my Postini to work properly, despite changing the DNS zone file as specified. Does anybody have experience getting Postini working?

    Do the MX records have to be inserted into a continuous section of the DNS zone file?

    Thanks.

    Mike
     
  3. dafut

    dafut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I use Postini for all domains on my server.

    dig sees the following for my domain (replace domain.tld with your domain):
    And, of course, this is for Service Center 6 with Postini--your records may be different.

    How do you have Delivery Manager set in Postini? I use IP address instead of a DNS record.

    You should also be able to get a response from Postini's servers by either telnet'ing to the record with the 100 precedence (my s6a1.psmtp.com record). Or you can check from www.dnsstuff.com and run their DNS Report (upper left hand corner). It will actually report, in yellow, a warning that the domain name doesn't match with a reponse from psmtp.com in the string.

    Also, make sure that any MX records that are direct to your server (no psmtp.com section) are set to a higher precedence number, such as 500, in the case of the above records.

    If I can be of further assistance, please let me know.
     
  4. lbeachmike

    lbeachmike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Beach, NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks. The issue with my domain turned out to be pretty simple. It somehow ended up in /etc/remotedomains and needed to be moved to /etc/localdomains.

    My best guess is that WHT must have moved it when I did the DNS edit through WHT - I can't think of any other reason, but this domain was not used previously for anything other than a test domain.

    Why are you using a TTL of 24 hours? I have mine set for 4 hours, which seems the more common default.

    It would seem beneficial to have a shorter TTL in case of problems requiring update, but this is hardly my area of expertise.

    Thanks.

    mrk
     
  5. dafut

    dafut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yeah, remotedomains listing would do it!

    Because MX records use the precedence (or preference) number, if a mail server is down, the next order of precedence will be used. Once I know that my records are good, I bumped them up to the 86400 seconds, or one day.

    If I know that I've got to move a site or my IP address will change, I drop my TTL's to around 1800.

    Hope you like Postini; I've used it for about 5 years now and love it. Much less fuss and muss re spam and junk. Very configurable...and I've only seen three instances of one zero-day exploit get through the filters--which were up to date within 6 hours of the first hit. This was when I was managing over 150 mail servers--all of which were routed through Postini.
     
Loading...

Share This Page