The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

want to add modules in WHM

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by shaun_s, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. shaun_s

    shaun_s Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Can anyone tell me how I can add my module or my icons in the webhost manager ? We want to modify the webhost manger, we would like to add our web mail module in the WHM, that is our icon should be seen under the Email option in the WHM, so that when we click on that icon, it will open up our new webmail. Can someone help us with that. Sorry, If I am being stupid, But I am a complete newbie.


    Thank you
    Shaun
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you mean the cPanel interface rather than the WHM interface? I ask since there is no Email icon in the WHM interface, but there is a Webmail icon in the cPanel interface.

    You can remove our icon from the interface by going to WHM -> Packages -> Feature Manager and removing that from the "disabled" feature list. This will also prevent your resellers from accidentally re-enabling this functionality.

    To add your own icon/functionality to the cPanel interface, you would create a cPanel Plugin. Documentation for that is available at: http://www.cpanel.net/plugins/devel/
     
  3. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hidden cpaddons

    Is it possible to utlize a hidden cpAddon via a cPanel plugin icon ?

    In short - if we can hide a cPAddon that we have created from everyone under the site software (actually does not matter if it is there or not in reality) and enable us the ability to provide the install via the cPanel link that would be excellent -

    I do not follow the documentation 100% however -
    am I missing something here ?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When something is hidden via Feature Manager, it is also disabled. Meaning even if you request that URL directly, you will be unable to use that functionality. I doubt you will be able to trigger disabled functionality via a plug-in.
     
  5. wsenter

    wsenter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    How do you create an icon/plugin for WHM? Does it have to be in the exact same format as the above mentioned cpanel plug in? I looked all around and found the page that stated "Generate a cPanel Plugin installation file." Which by the way is here in case anyone is looking for it...

    http://www.cpanel.net/plugins/devel/installgen.html

    But I was unable to find that exact same page for WHM. Could you please clarify a little bit on how you do this specifically for WHM?
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The procedure for WHM plugins is vastly different. The general consensus at this time is if you wish to build a WHM plug-in, take one of the ones we bundle, copy it then reverse engineer it to your needs.
     
  7. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If only that were true.

    Try disabling the default mail option. The icon disappears but at the bottom of the email management page in cpanel there is a link to it. Clicking the link takes you to the default mail page.

    This makes it impossible to prevent your customers from setting up catch-all mailboxes, should you want to do that.
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you using the X, XMail, X2, X3Mail or X3 skin? Can you tell me where precisely you see this link because I am having difficulty reproducing this on my test server. I do not know what you mean by "email management page" - I'm assuming you mean the "Email Accounts" page.
     
  9. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, you are correct. The link is no longer included. I'm pleased to see that no longer happens.

    I'm disappointed to see this message....

    "Note: Your default account has been set to either reject incoming email or forward it to another account."

    Very confusing to the customer. If they are not given a default account option - they will have no clue what that means. Any reference to "default "account" is only valid if the customer is aware that such a thing exists. If it is disabled, telling them about it is not going to help at all.

    I would advise that the correct behaviour is to remove all references to a "default account" if that option is disabled.
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That sounds like a good idea. I'd recommend submitting an official feature request to http://bugzilla.cpanel.net so we don't inadvertently overlook such a suggestion. Additionally, if you submit the request, you will receive updates via email regarding its implementation.
     
Loading...

Share This Page