Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Want to keep both PHP 5.2 and 5.3... how to do it?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mr Goodie2Shoes, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I am configuring my new server and have installed PHP 5.2 as default... but also want to add PHP 5.3 as the newer version of moodle, drupal and some other scripts need PHP 5.3 to work...

    My clients can migrate to PHP 5.3 by adding this in the .htaccess file:
    Code:
    AddHandler application/x-httpd-php53 .php .php5 .php4 .php3
    any help? :D
     
  2. hoststop

    hoststop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't think that it is possible to have php 5.2.x and 5.3.x on cPanel servers until and unless you compile them manually. AFAIK it's not recommended on cPanel servers. If any cPanel member confirms, it will be great.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Right. You can have php4.x and php5.x
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Many hosts support both minor version in cPanel for example HawkHost...
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel itself does not currently support concurrent versions of PHP 5 such as 5.2.x and 5.3.x using EasyApache. Any hosts offering this are likely either using 1H, which has support for that component, or using their own custom setup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    nope... they are using cPanel... and also, I know they have done it manually... so I wanna know how?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    The official feature request for this can be found at:

    Multiple PHP 5.x versions

    Feel free to add your input to that thread. Also, some users on that thread mention which custom solutions they are currently using.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    The best way to have both the PHP versions on your server should be via 1H HIVE or LiteSpeed. Even it can achieve via a manual installation of additional version, it needs some technical expertise to install and manage it.

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Mr Goodie2Shoes

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Nibin,
    so LiteSpeed got the option? :D
     
  10. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    168
  11. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wow That's great
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice