The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WAP WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jimcarter, Jan 12, 2003.

  1. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    anyone fancy a WAP version of WHM?
    Ive made one which currently works, it can restart services and reboot the server but thats it at the moment,
    does anyone have any good suggestions for things to add?
    remember that a phone's screen is probably a bit too small to have a full account creation script ;)
    Thanks :)
    oh, and it only took me about 5 mins to make so it will be free
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I would be greatly interested in this.
     
  3. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    http://www.jimcarter.me.uk/wapwhm.zip
    Id appreciate any suggestions you might have for extra features for the script,
    Thanks :)
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Very cool!
     
  5. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    thanks :)
    does it work ok for you then?
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Waiting for my gprs service to come back online. Down for maintenace.
     
  7. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    just out of interest,
    how much is GPRS over there?
    I have it enabled on my contract, and my operator tells me that it is free, I just have to pay for the data I use,
    this is something like £6 or £8 GBP per MB (it gets cheaper if you want blocks of 5MB or something) which is about $12
    however, when I last used it the data charges never came up on my bill :)
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Data Access Unlimited MB $50/mth CAD.

    BTW - Got it working through a test site. But only see four options and only the apache one is working.

    Nice test site for wap apps, it simulates a wireless device.

    http://www.gelon.net/
     
  9. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    hmm the reboot stuff should work,
    i swear it worked for me,
    if you open up functions.php all the available stuff is in there, then you just change the links in index.php to do=commandname
    e.g. ex.php?do=resbind
     
  10. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    God am I stupid, I never even looked into the index.php file.
     
  11. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I've been working on something very similar for my Palm i705. I've just been trying to scale things back to the size of the palm using standard html, not wml, since the Palm can support it. The biggest issues are the use of javascript, which the Palm won't support (like in the pasword change section) and the way it handles the frames (I REALLY wish WHM didn't have to use them!!!). I just wish I could have this version run at the same time as the regular WHM theme, just have WHM detect that it is a Palm device and then serve that theme.

    Jaz
     
  12. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    I could make a separate php WHM theme if you wanted, which wouldnt have frames or javascript, and I could have it formatted for the PDA, it wouldnt be too hard to do really, I was planning on doing something at some point soon anyway, to get past proxy problems, i.e. proxies that dont allow access to port 2086, you could make the WHM theme in PHP and then just access it through normal port 80,
    I will probably look into this sometime soon and then give you the code for formatting for your PDA,
    the only downside is that it would be very laborious to make but I will let you know if I ever get motivated enough to complete it :)
     
  13. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    [quote:44067a6982][i:44067a6982]Originally posted by jimcarter[/i:44067a6982]

    I could make a separate php WHM theme if you wanted, which wouldnt have frames or javascript, and I could have it formatted for the PDA, it wouldnt be too hard to do really, I was planning on doing something at some point soon anyway, to get past proxy problems, i.e. proxies that dont allow access to port 2086, you could make the WHM theme in PHP and then just access it through normal port 80,
    I will probably look into this sometime soon and then give you the code for formatting for your PDA,
    the only downside is that it would be very laborious to make but I will let you know if I ever get motivated enough to complete it :)[/quote:44067a6982]

    I've already done that (having a separate site using the port 80). I don't like that idea since if Apache fails, my troubleshooting would be rendered useless using that type of interface. An actual WHM interface for Palm is the only way to go (I'm able to use non-standard ports without a hitch).

    Jaz
     
  14. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Yeh I suppose that would be the only way to do it, other than running a second copy of apache on the server but that kind of defeats the point I suppose,
    any chance of a copy of your WHM scripts using port 80?
    It would help me out a lot :)
    Thanks
     
  15. Blue Optic

    Blue Optic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Get motivated! :)
     
  16. KenMaier

    KenMaier Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you have an updated URL for this? Tried to download but it appears the site is no longer available.

    Thanks!

    -ken

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. oinkmedia

    oinkmedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SW London (UK)
    Having downloaded the script, all I get is "Wrong mime-type, I got text/html, but I want text/vnd.wap.wml." when I try to access the php scripts? Any ideas??
     
  18. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Considering that this thread is over 2 years old, I'm not surprised. You'd have to try contacting the author if they're still arround and supporting their script
     
  19. Myron

    Myron Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Great State of Texas
    Regardless of this script/posts being 2 years old now, I just downloaded it, had to make a few script changes to get it work, but it's working flawlessly now with my phone (LG-1300 with MediaNet) ... I should have run across this sooner!
     
    #19 Myron, Aug 23, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2005
  20. IberHosting

    IberHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello Myron. Can you please post your version? I've made some changes, but this not work. Maybe is the openbasedir?

    Thanks,

    Antonio
     
Loading...

Share This Page