Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED warn [autodiscover] User file '/var/cpanel/users/nobody' is empty or non-existent

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ashok_iw, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hello Support,

    After I upgraded to latest WHM - I started to see the below errors in apache error logs

    Please advise what this error means? How to fix? Thank You!

    [2017-03-28 02:16:27 -0600] warn [autodiscover] User file '/var/cpanel/users/nobody' is empty or non-existent. at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Config/LoadCpUserFile.pm line 293.
    Cpanel::Config::LoadCpUserFile::_load("nobody", undef) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Config/LoadCpUserFile.pm line 193
    Cpanel::Config::LoadCpUserFile::load("nobody") called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Config/LoadCpUserFile.pm line 392
    Cpanel::Config::LoadCpUserFile::loadcpuserfile("nobody") called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/AcctUtils/DomainOwner/Tiny.pm line 113
    Cpanel::AcctUtils::DomainOwner::Tiny::_getdomainowner("domain.tld", HASH(0x19ca580)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/AcctUtils/DomainOwner/Tiny.pm line 49
    Cpanel::AcctUtils::DomainOwner::Tiny::getdomainowner("domain.tld", HASH(0x19ca580)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Domain/Mail.pm line 23
    Cpanel::Domain::Mail::mail_subdomain_exists("domain.tld") called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/SSL/Domain.pm line 252
    Cpanel::SSL::Domain::_find_best_match_for_domain_on_certificate("domain.tld", ARRAY(0x17ba6c8), HASH(0x17b8218)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/SSL/Domain.pm line 179
     
    #1 ashok_iw, Mar 28, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2017
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It looks like the domain name is incorrectly associated with the "nobody" user. You can run the following command to confirm the domain name is owned by the correct user in the /etc/userdomains file:

    Code:
     grep domain.tld /etc/userdomains
    If the domain name is associated with the "nobody" user, modify the entry in the /etc/userdomains file so it matches the account username.

    For example, if domain.tld is owned by "user123", you'd replace the following entry:

    Code:
    domain.tld: nobody
    With:

    Code:
    domain.tld: user123
    Let us know if this helps.

    Thank you.
     
  3. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thanks Michael!

    I found such entry..
    Code:
    #grep nobody /etc/userdomains
    *: nobody
    
    Please advise..
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This entry is actually normal. You're looking for the entry associated with the domain name referenced in your original message (it was moderated to domain.tld).

    Thank you.
     
  5. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    So how do I get rid of those error messages in apache error log?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You need to run the "grep" command for the domain name listed in the error logs instead of the nobody user to determine if that's the cause of the problem. EX:

    Code:
     grep domain.tld /etc/userdomains
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if you'd like us to take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Code:
    grep -i domain.tld /etc/userdomains
    No result!
     
    #7 ashok_iw, Mar 28, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2017
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  9. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Just curious do you have any script which can rebuild domainnames / accounts ?

    The domainname which is reported by - Does not exist in my system anymore!
    Code:
    Cpanel::AcctUtils::DomainOwner::Tiny::_getdomainowner("elitedrywallers.com", HASH(0xede610)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/AcctUtils/DomainOwner/Tiny.pm line 49
    
    So is it possible some bad cache or any other pointers you think could help?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you notice any entries for the domain name in any of the cPanel configuration files? EX:

    Code:
    grep domain.tld /var/cpanel/users/*
    grep domain.tld /etc/*
    Note that we're happy to take a closer look if you'd like to open a support ticket.

    Thank you.
     
  11. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Note: I need to take approval to provide you server access via support ticket.

    Meanwhile here is the match found - I think all those <file,v> are old versioned. But, proftpd , userdatadomains.stor & vftp is something which is storing this domain.tld.

    Could you please advise how to proceed? Is there anyway to rebuild those 3 files? Thank you!


    Code:
    [Removed Output - Real Domain Name Provided]
    
     
    #11 ashok_iw, Mar 29, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 29, 2017
  12. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi Michael,

    Here is support #8339431

    Thanks!
     
  13. ashok_iw

    ashok_iw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hyderabad, AP
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    This was solved.

    dig +short autodiscover.<domain.tld>

    Which was pointing to my severip that caused the issue.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm happy to see the issue is now addressed. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
Loading...

Share This Page