The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Warning For 8.2 Edge And Release

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dgbaker, Sep 21, 2003.

  1. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cPanel has a major issue in E27 and R28 of 8.2 with giving the same useless password over and over. Every account get this password (or similar) even when another is inputted.

    +===================================+
    | New Account Info |
    +===================================+
    | Domain: demo.example.com
    | Ip: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (n)
    | HasCgi: y
    | UserName: demoexa
    | PassWord: fd:3:7 we inputted Passwrd3
    | CpanelMod: x
    | HomeRoot: /home
    | Quota: unlimited Meg
    | NameServer: ns1.domain.com
    +===================================+

    This is happening on all of servers as well as other cPanel users we have spoke with.

    The workaround is to go back and change the password.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am running:

    WHM 8.2.0 cPanel 8.2.0-E27
    RedHat 7.3

    I created several accounts today and did not experience this problem.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you have wwwacct chattred +i?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, why?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Web Host Manager talkes to wwwacct a bit diffrently now. chattring it +i caused it to be out of sync with web host manager and thus fail to function.

    You really should create a /scripts/postwwwacct if you need to have things done after wwwacct.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. jcn

    jcn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What exactly would a /scripts/postwwwacct file look like? This sounds like exactly the sort of thing that I need, but don't see any documentation for it.

    Thanks!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It can be perl/shell/etc script.

    It just run after wwwacct is completed if it exists and the ARGV from wwwacct is passed to the script.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. jcn

    jcn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That's cool. What are the options that are passed into /scripts/wwwacct and in what order?

    Also, I assume that if I wanted to add information to the httpd.conf for a particular virtualhost I would have to parse the file to find the correct place to put it, right?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    The only problem with that though is that we need to make changes to the way DNS setup is done, etc... Is there any way that things like that can be customizable? How can I do it after the fact?

    For example we change the date/time for DNS, the TTL, SOA etc...,

    Plus we have wwwacct creating another file when creating the user that is used for a dynamic index page.

    Plus we have the default e-mail customized as well.

    If these types of things could be made so that we could customize as required (like the exim conf stuff) that would be better. There are unfortunatly somethings that cannot be done after wwwacct runs and that need to be done instead.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Had the same problem we are using modernbill, we went and downloaded the new cpanel connect file in the modernbill forums and un- chattr'ed the wwacct file and ran upcp all is well now.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You mean to say you are not using my watchwwwacct script? ;)

    That's the main reason I made it. I don't want to lock any files that cpanel may need to update. I prefer to keep up with the changes.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hmm, Forgot about that little script. Where is it again?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Over in another forum. ;)
    here
     
  14. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Duh!! Can you say stupid? :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I can, but I won't. :D

    Stupid is a mistake I made close to a year ago now when I pretty well deleted my hard drive. :eek:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. chrisbond

    chrisbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    How can you do the following in /scripts/postwwwacct...


    Change default SOA's for zone files ie. refresh, retry, expiry and minimum. (For example i set mine to 3600,600,3600,3600). Yes it can cause more dns traffic but i dont mind that i also modify every IN NS, IN A etc to set them to 3600 too.

    Also I add a:

    $domain. 3600 IN MX 15 myrelayserver.blah.com.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. Stenny Chong

    Stenny Chong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Why cpanel never think about this, have another file store user customize setting and have wwwacct include this file when executing, pull those value and put it into the dns table. Doesn't it easy to be done. Please, Please do it, include a dns tweak in whm, and let us choose using which date format and let us fill in our customize TTL.

    Thank you.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. chrisbond

    chrisbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Actually thats a good point the RFC's and all good dns guides say the format of the serial should be:

    YYYYMMDDRR (where r is the revision)

    Would be very nice if cpanel could change this too as im fed up of editing them manually!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've always wondered why cpanel didn't use "templates" for dns, apache, info, etc...
    But I guess they wanted to protect some "secret" by putting it into wwwacct, before we could see the source. But they won't change it now that we can, rather strange...
    Thanks for whoever pointed out watchwwwacct, it's a lifesaver

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page