The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Warning on Upgrade...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PCZero, Jul 15, 2007.

  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    I see the following when I run a manual cPanel upGrade in WHM. What is this about and should i be concerned?


    ==> WARNING: The configured processor count does not match the
    ==> actual processor count (1)! Running log analysis programs
    ==> on this system may cause excessive load! You should set "extracpus"
    ==> to "0" in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config if this is not ok.
    ==> cPanel Log Daemon version 22.2
    ==> Shared RRDTOOL support enabled
    ==> Starting cpbandwd (bandwidth monitoring for IMAP/POP)


    Thanks,
    DB
     
  2. AtlantisService

    AtlantisService Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I get something along the same lines...

    There was a problem setting up iptables. You either have an older kernel or a broken iptables install, or ipt_owner could not be loaded.
    ==> WARNING: The configured processor count does not match the
    ==> actual processor count (2)! Running log analysis programs
    ==> on this system may cause excessive load! You should set "extracpus"
    ==> to "0" in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config if this is not ok.

    For the record though, I do have 2 processors on the server. I think the "iptables" warning is what I'm worried about more then the other warning above.
     
    #2 AtlantisService, Jul 15, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2007
  3. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    I dont understand what iptables would have to do with the system not recognizing the proper cpu count... Explain?
     
  4. mrcbrown

    mrcbrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think they are just mentioning a similar issue, on yours edit this:

    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config

    It claims to be set to Zero, and the server has 1 CPU, so make it one.

    AtlantisService: Are you on a VPS?
     
  5. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Thank you. I will try that!
     
  6. AtlantisService

    AtlantisService Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We do have a few VPS's running. And as I review things, I noticed that error only happens on them. Must be something I'm over looking.
     
Loading...

Share This Page