The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Warning, /scripts/fpfakeout.so failed to build

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nick_phost, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. nick_phost

    nick_phost Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just loaded a new server and now im seeing a weird error message which it looks like not to many people are having.

    I reinstalled frontpage and perl(because i also had the quota issue).
    ran upcp --force rebuilt apache. What else should i try? Right now im out of ideas.

    Code:
    Attempting to install FrontPage extensions...
    
    Warning, /scripts/fpfakeout.so failed to build.  Please discover the reason!
    
    Starting install, port: 80.
    
    Created: 21 Aug 2006 00:41:03 -0000
    Version: 5.0.2.4803
    Server extensions already installed on port 80.
    Reverting to upgrade.
    
    Starting upgrade, port: 80.
    
    Created: 21 Aug 2006 00:41:03 -0000
    Version: 5.0.2.4803
    Chowning Content in service /.
    Port 80: Upgrade completed.
    Upgraded Version: 5.0.2.4803.
    Setting Password
    Frontpage passthough auth enabled!
    
    
    FrontPage extensions are currently: installed 
    
    Thanks
    Nick
     
  2. nick_phost

    nick_phost Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well i found this problem on 2 server now.
    Both are running centos x86_64 cPanel 10.8.2-R119
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    ugh another good reason to avoid the 64bit OS's. I'd suggest logging it with cPanel through your license provider. It's most likely to be a library module issue.
     
  4. fniederm

    fniederm Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    any news on this issue?
     
  5. nick_phost

    nick_phost Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    not anything that ive found. I going to reinstall the few server that i was testing 64bit on.
     
  6. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hm... we are also getting this message. I can't tell for sure was it here before.
    nick_phost: are you experience some problems because of this message?
    chirpy: so do you suggest to stay with 32-bit? we are all buying 64bit cpus and actually everything is turning into 64bit now, but still so many places where people experience problems with it. :(
     
  7. nick_phost

    nick_phost Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    you can still load a 32bit os on a 64 bit cpu. for now im installing 32bit because it works.

    Also frontpage is dead unless someone will take up the project.
    quoted from the linux frontpage site.

    What im thinking is frontpage linux is not built for 64bit. That why im using 32bit on most of our servers.
     
  8. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, but it's better to run 64-bit OS on 64-bit CPU. We are using 64-bit OS for many boxes with Cpanel, but I think this is the first time when we saw this error. Strange.. Although as far as our support staff can say - Frontpage is working fine, so we decided to ignore this warning.
     
  9. SageBrian

    SageBrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY/CT (US)
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For all newer servers, I wouldn't bother offering FrontPage.

    If Microsoft doesn't feel the need to give options to it's users by allowing their product to run on the 'majority' of webservers, then it's a Microsoft issue.

    For those users who feel they need to use FrontPage, I would either put them on an older server, or setup a Windows server for those accounts. I'm not going to force old technology onto new technology. Move forward... :)

    I've been slowly trying to get those remaining FrontPage users to move towards Joomla or something else not dependant on the Microsoft monster.

    Now, if MS decided to open the code so there would be an OpenSource version of the extensions for *nix, that would be great.

    It comes down to educating the users about MS products, the web, and the disregard of standards by MS. Show them html code from Word, and then show them how HTML should look. :) I'm not a MS basher. I understand the 95% hold they have on the market. But, the web is still a different area (at least now).
     
  10. liwiplus

    liwiplus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    This is only an intermediate fix.... copy the missing so file fpfakeout.so from the server where it has installed. I did that and it is working fine even ldd is taking it correctly:

    ldd fpfakeout.so
    libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x40012000)
    libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x40016000)
    /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0x41000000)
     
Loading...

Share This Page