Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Was wondering how do i install mySQL 5

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by stargatesg1, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. stargatesg1

    stargatesg1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I was wondering how do i go on about installing mySQL5 i have cPanel 11 installed. Please advise thanks...
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Updating from a previous version of MySQL® to a later version is not automatically reversable. You should backup your databases if you think you might wish to downgrade in the future.

    1. WHM -> Server Configuration -> Tweak Settings, in the "MySQL" section select 5.0 and click save at the bottom of the page.
    2. WHM -> Software -> Update Server Software (run it)
    3. WHM -> Software -> Apache Update, Load previous config, then proceed to recompile Apache/PHP.

    4. Sometimes you may need to run the following command via SSH afterwards:
    Code:
    /scripts/perlinstaller --force Bundle::DBD::mysql
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'd recommend stopping chkservd and mysql beforehand and taking a copy of /var/lib/mysql/ - just incase ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. fireineyes

    fireineyes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    A newbie question I am sure.. How do I stop chkservd and mysql beforehand?
     
  5. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    Here is my step by step that i found from this forum about 2-3 weeks ago and used it with no error :

    Code:
    # stop services
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/chkservd stop
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql stop
    
    
    # double check mysql has stopped
    ps aux|grep mysql
    
    # copy databases to a new location
    cp -r /var/lib/mysql /backup/mysqlbackup
    cp -r /etc/my.cnf /backup/mysqlbackup/cnf
    
    1. WHM -> Server Configuration -> Tweak Settings, in the "MySQL" section select 5.0 and click save at the bottom of the page.
    2. WHM -> Software -> Update Server Software (run it)
    3. WHM -> Software -> Apache Update, Load previous config, then proceed to recompile Apache/PHP.
    
    4. Sometimes you may need to run the following command via SSH afterwards:
    Code:
    
    /scripts/perlinstaller --force Bundle::DBD::mysql
    
    
    # restart services
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql start
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/chkservd start
    
    
    # if MySQL-Client can't upgrade to 5.0 and still 4.1
    rm -rf /home/username/.cpanel/datastore/_usr_sbin_mysqld_--version
    /scripts/makecpphp
    Above step by step is not mine and i can't find the thread again so if someone knows where is the url of the thread you can add it here. :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. WillyMore

    WillyMore Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    php sites not working after this
     
    #6 WillyMore, Sep 6, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2007
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may want to create a simple .php file that does a basic SELECT query just to ensure the database connection works. If it doesn't work - that's a problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice