The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Web site doesn't work..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lblanchardiii, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. lblanchardiii

    lblanchardiii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Strange behavior.

    Sometimes when I go to one of my sites, the browser tells me the server cannot be found, please try again. Upon a refresh, site loads right up instantly. Is there something wrong with my configs and/or BIND not working properly?
     
  2. LiNUxG0d

    LiNUxG0d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    Hey there,

    I would suspect it's DNS propagation; that or a flaky Internet connection. Try to ping the domain with, say, 100 or 150 packets to see if it fails at all. If you're getting dropped packets, it could be a routing issue as well.

    - DNS Propagation;
    - Ping test for connection stability.

    That, or MAYBE a .htaccess with bad redirects on it.

    Those are my best guesstimates without requesting any domain information.
     
  3. lblanchardiii

    lblanchardiii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Pinged the domain 150 times, no dropped packets.

    As for the .htaccess; they don't have any redirects on them. Its always the main page that does it anyway.

    www.redlined.org and forums.redlined.org

    Just a simple refresh brings it back.

    Not sure what could be causing it, I just switched to a new server about a week ago. Though all the DNS Propagation should have been done in like 48 hours, 72 hours tops?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. LiNUxG0d

    LiNUxG0d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    Hmmm,

    You could always dig the domain at your ISP's DNS server to see what's up with them. Honestly, I can see it 200% of the time. Yeah, 200%. ;) lol!

    I've refreshed a bunch of times, tried from different locations, etc. All seems good. I wonder if your ISP is running a CACHE server with a high TTL to expunge zones... dig them a couple of times and see.

    Code:
    dig @host.dns.com www.redlined.org
    Funny, sometimes, their DNS servers are clustered and one server in their "round robin" causes problems. I used to work for the Network Escalation (3rd line support) department at Bell Canada (biggest telecom in Canada) and I'd see these issues happen. Rarely. But they did, believe me. :)

    All seems good for me. Any passer-bys on this thread, can you confirm that the domain loads ok?

    Regards,
     
Loading...

Share This Page