Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Web site not found, DNS problem?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by thechronic, Oct 14, 2005.

  1. thechronic

    thechronic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I have performed the maildir conversion yesterday and did a /scripts/upcp --force

    After that I couldn't reach my domain (www.aprworks-online.be) anymore, but I can still ping the server and log in to the WHM.

    What can cause this? It seems like a DNS problem, but I've checked everything but it all seems to be OK.

    - the name server pointers are correctly set up with the registrar of the domain
    - Networking Setup > Nameserver IPs shows the correct IP addresses for the primary and secondary nameserver
    - I've requested the DNS IP's from the data center and added these to the /etc/resolv.conf file, which now reads
    Code:
    domain aprworks-online.com
    search aprworks-online.com
    nameserver 209.51.128.19
    nameserver 209.51.128.20
    - Service Configuration > Nameserver Setup: enabled it
    - Server Configuration > Basic cPanel/WHM Setup: I've assigned IP addresses and added A entries for both nameservers
    - I've done /scripts/upcp --force after all this

    But the domain can still not be reached, what else can be the problem?
     
  2. oleanhst

    oleanhst Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I had the same issue. I had to restart bind
     
  3. thechronic

    thechronic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    That doesn't work :(

    I also tried doing a graceful reboot but that doesn't help either.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,472
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  5. thechronic

    thechronic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    and how do I solve that?
     
  6. thechronic

    thechronic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Anyone?

    When I check the service status, the named service is up and running.
     
  7. thechronic

    thechronic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I noticed something weird, DNS clustering is disabled, but when I click on 'DNS Functions > Establish a Trust Relationship with a Primary Nameserver' I get the message 'This function is handled automatically since dns clustering is enabled. There is no need to set it up.'
     
  8. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    DNS issues can be tricky; I suggest you hire a sys admin to help you.
     
  9. thechronic

    thechronic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    It started working again after I restarted IPconfig.
     
Loading...

Share This Page