The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Web Space Cpanel Tag

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Radio_Head, Dec 21, 2002.

  1. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hello,


    I wish to know what includes/calculates the cpanel tag &cpanel Quota=&showquotaused()&&

    I think ...

    web space on /home/user plus subdirectories
    Email usage on all email accounts
    MySQL

    Is it correct ?
    Thank you
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The showquota used handles everything under /home/user including subs and mail BUT does not do sql space that is calculated with cpanel Mysql=&diskusage()&

    Basically the showquota used is doing a du -h in the /home/user area only.

    Another to watch is that if you supply PostgreSQL it is also not included in the quota used.
     
  3. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:e056e0051a][i:e056e0051a]Originally posted by dgbaker[/i:e056e0051a]

    The showquota used handles everything under /home/user including subs and mail BUT does not do sql space that is calculated with cpanel Mysql=&diskusage()&

    Basically the showquota used is doing a du -h in the /home/user area only.

    Another to watch is that if you supply PostgreSQL it is also not included in the quota used.

    [/quote:e056e0051a]

    hmm , I don't agree , it should include mysql usage , while I have some doubt on email usage .


    Bye
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    An easy way to test is to do the du -h in a /home/user area and compare this with the usage listed in cpanel.

    Remember that cpanel uses a seperate tag for mysql usage. And the db's are not stored in the users home area but are all together in the /var/lib/mysql area.

    Also if you go into /var/lib/mysql and total up the amount of space used by each user, that should equal the mysql disk usage listed in cpanel.
     
  5. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Actually, it's files owned by the user (as in chown user filename) which count against the user's quota. That's why mysql databases aren't accounted for (they're owned by mysql).
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Now one begs to ask the question, what stops someone from creating a massive DB and using tons of disk space? Since mysql db's are not accounted for in allocated disk space for a user, they could actually be using a ton more space then given.

    We periodically go to the mysql area and look at the sizes of Databases, if we find any that are way out there in terms of disk space we question the owner.
     
  7. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    on my box cpanel is able to report mysql usage correctly , I can assure it .

    I checked a lot of user and data on
    /var/lib/mysql/ and data on cpanel are the same .

    For example

    du -sk /var/lib/mysql/illdesi
    5048

    or 5.048 MB

    while cpanel says
    5.45 MB (MySQL)

    I don't know why there is a difference of ~0.40MB however
    the error is acceptable .

    (all my mysql files are chOwn mysql mysql)

    Bye
     
  8. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    [quote:c728edbca8][i:c728edbca8]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:c728edbca8]on my box cpanel is able to report mysql usage correctly , I can assure it .[/quote:c728edbca8]
    Yes, it can report it to the byte, but cannot enforce any limits, that's the problem.

    # man quota
     
  9. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:13def36ce3][i:13def36ce3]Originally posted by Juanra[/i:13def36ce3]

    [quote:13def36ce3][i:13def36ce3]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:13def36ce3]on my box cpanel is able to report mysql usage correctly , I can assure it .[/quote:13def36ce3]
    Yes, it can report it to the byte, but cannot enforce any limits, that's the problem.

    # man quota[/quote:13def36ce3]

    Yes , it cannot enforce limits , but since on the tag
    &cpanel Quota=&showquotaused()&& is included the mysql usage (MB) , if a client goes over I should receive an email advice , I think ...
     
  10. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    On our system I just checked several accounts. In all cases &&cpanel Quota=&showquotaused()&& did NOT include any mysql usage info.
     
  11. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:19e86256bf][i:19e86256bf]Originally posted by dgbaker[/i:19e86256bf]

    On our system I just checked several accounts. In all cases &&cpanel Quota=&showquotaused()&& did NOT include any mysql usage info.[/quote:19e86256bf]

    I am on red hat 7.2 , and I can assure you that on my box works fine ,&&cpanel Quota=&showquotaused()&& include mysql usage
    reported from mysql cpanel tag .

    My doubt is only with email , I have some doubt that they are included .
     
  12. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    If in fact it does calculate the total including MySQL, how does it enforce the quota on the MySQL databases for that customer? Since all MySQL data is in a single file in the WHM/CP implementation, I see no possible way of controlling the quota on the DB.

    As far as I can tell, if a customer has 125M disk quota, then only those files owned by that customer's UID would be enforced. If the customer has 5 DBs at their disposal, they could easily have all 5 DBs growing in size to multiple gigabytes.

    Jaz
     
  13. iain-pczap.net

    iain-pczap.net Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    slightly off topic....but also kinda on topic.

    Does anyone have a list/know of a list of all these cpanel commands?

    Also a quick once over of what they are called etc coz someone told me they are &api's&.

    I know they display info in themes, thats about all :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page