The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Webalizer how to exclude files types ??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dotcom22, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. dotcom22

    dotcom22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    HI

    I would like set Webalizer for exclude some files types to be displayed. I would like also increase TOP sites display and more...

    I have make a lot search and I have found some very old forum telling is possible to create a custom "webalizer.conf" file and put into root folder...or into /tmp/webalizer... I have try both solutions but no one working...

    It seem Cpanel change often webalizer location and ability/method to make custom display...

    So anybody know how to do ?

    thanks for any suggestions
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Placing a webalizer.conf file in /home/username/tmp/webalizer/ should work. However, be sure to chattr it as follows:

    Code:
    chattr +ai /home/username/tmp/webalizer.conf
    Where username represents the user's cPanel username.
     
  3. dotcom22

    dotcom22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for reply...

    I have put that file (in fact the default sample file provided in webalizer website available here: ftp://ftp.mrunix.net/pub/webalizer/sample.conf ) in webalizer folder but no change...

    I have also apply the chattr command but no change too... I see "chattr" is a command for make a file immutable so is not possible after to delete the file:

    chattr - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Another question: The conf file must be uploaded by ftp as root or as user ? Any difference ? In fact I have try both without success... I have try also to put conf file inside /home/username/temp/ and inside /home/username/temp/webalizer but no change.... Your previous answer are not totally clear...I must put the file in /temp/ or in /temp/webalizer/ ??

    Maybe I must wait 24h when webalizer make new stats and modification will take effect ???

    Other question: My first goal is to hide some files...It is correct to put only the follow data inside file? :

    HideURL *.gif
    HideURL *.GIF
    HideURL *.jpg
    HideURL *.JPG
    HideURL *.png
    HideURL *.PNG
    HideURL *.ra
    HideURL *.css
    HideURL *.CSS
    HideURL *.JS
    HideURL *.js
    HideURL *.SWF
    HideURL *.swf

    Last question: It is possible to set webalizer with a conf file for the whole software and not only per each user ? In fact I would like hide the above files type for all my users....

    thanks
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The webalizer.conf file must go in /home/username/tmp/webalizer/ where username represents the cPanel user's username. It does not go in /home/username/tmp/ nor any directory with "temp" in its path name.

    If you still experience issues with webalizer.conf after the next set of stats are generated, please let our technical analysts assist you: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  5. dotcom22

    dotcom22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok thanks it work now...

    Anyway I would like set some param but for the whole Webalizer for avoid the annoying manual process to upload the conf file on each account...

    It is possible to to that ? I have find some post telling is possible to do by putting that file inside etc/webalizer but I don't have any webalizer folder inside etc...Some user say Webalizer and Cpanel are build together and are not separate...

    any suggestion much appreciate....
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    At this time, we do not have a global webalizer configuration file in a cPanel/WHM environment.
     
  7. dotcom22

    dotcom22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Too bad.... In fact I have see on some other forum is possible to set a webalizer.conf file and put it in ETC folder....and all param can be apply to all account on server...

    Do you plan to add this feature in near future ?? I know webalizer can be a obsolete software and maybe you don't plan to change anything but the fact is you propose by default this software with Cpanel so it can be great if we can use it with his full power... Without making some specific configuration personally I think the stats provided are not very useful... I don't pretend to get precise stats like Google analytics or other but Webalizer can be a simple and light solution for provide basic stats...

    Typically using some value permitting to hide some files, extensions, url, localhost and more will increase the count ans the sens of stats...
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you feel this functionality should be added, I recommend submitting a feature request at: cPanel Bugzilla Main Page

    I am not aware of any plans to add global webalizer.conf capability to cPanel/WHM.
     
  9. woodp5

    woodp5 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Central California, USA
    chattr requires root access which isn't available with reseller accounts. Assuming no root access, is there an alternate way of having webalizer recognize a user's conf file?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unfortunately, there is no alternative method. You will need to have your hosting company do the chattr for you.
     
  11. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Regarding the former item, it should be noted that chattr also
    is not available on most VPS server accounts either even with root
    access to the VPS account environment. It's one of the common
    great many limitations that differ VPS servers from real dedicated servers
    and a side trivia note for you.

    Regarding your latter item, it's trivial to have webalizer read in the user
    config files from the user's own /etc or for consistency /tmp folders
    but then root access would again be needed for the initial setup so
    you are again in a difficult position if you aren't the server administrator.

    (Side FYI: Might want to look at AwStats as it's a much better stats program)
     
Loading...

Share This Page