The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

webalizer not finding $homedir/webalizer.conf

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jeff_s, Sep 22, 2005.

  1. jeff_s

    jeff_s Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have sites hosted on a cPanel-based shared hosting server.
    (Linux 2.4.31, Apache/1.3.33, CPanel 10.6.0-RELEASE 201, Webalizer 2.01)

    I am using a custom webalizer.conf file for each of my sites on that server. That file is located at /home/myacct/webalizer.conf

    My custom webalizer.conf files worked fine for months and months, until...

    Around the beginning of September, the nightly webalizer run stopped using my custom webalizer.conf file. Now I get the generic version. My provider tells me they "loaded the latest cPanel security update" around the time it stopped working.

    Any ideas? Has the location for the file been changed?

    In these forums I found the script snippet below which looks like it points webalizer at
    $homedir/webalizer.conf
    But now support at my provider says they can find no reference to
    $homedir/webalizer.conf
    in the current cpanel webalizer scripts.

    (I have only whm/cPanel/ftp access to the server ... no shell login)

    Thanks for any help.
    -Jeff

    ---------------------------------------
    snippet of
    /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd
    (as it was at some point in time)
    found in these forums
    ---------------------------------------
    if (-e "$homedir/webalizer.conf") {
    logsystem("$root/bin/logrunner ${cpunum}.0
    $root/3rdparty/bin/${weblang}webalizer -c $homedir/webalizer.conf -N 10 -D
    $homedir/tmp/webalizer/dns_cache.db -R 250 -p -n ${access_log_name}
    -o $homedir/tmp/webalizer ${waccess_log}");
    } else {
    logsystem("$root/bin/logrunner ${cpunum}.0
    $root/3rdparty/bin/${weblang}webalizer -N 10 -D
    $homedir/tmp/webalizer/dns_cache.db -R 250 -p -n ${access_log_name}
    -o $homedir/tmp/webalizer ${waccess_log}");
    }
     
  2. gahelm

    gahelm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Same problem on my sites. September seems to be accurate for the timing as well.

    Any help?
     
  3. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    Same problem here after upgrading to WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.6.0-R158. This upgrade (for me) introduced the new statistics options in WHM, but I can't find anything related to the custom webalizer.conf.
     
  4. jeff_s

    jeff_s Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    webalizer not finding $homedir/webalizer.conf: raise a bug?

    I scanned the cPanel changelogs and found nothing that mentions touching the webalizer scripts.

    If any of those who replied as also having this problem has cPanel bug-raising privileges, would you consider raising a bug on this? My hosting provider has not been too supportive in helping to track down and fix this.

    Thanks!
    jeff_s
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    As they won't help, you could go the bugzilla route and log in there yourself which is fine for reproducable bugs:
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net
     
  6. lewis21

    lewis21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    webalizer not finding $homedir/webalizer.conf: raise a bug?

    its now looked for in the output dir, it changed without notice during an update (typical)

    ie. $homedir/tmp/webalizer/webalizer.conf

    I have already raised a ticket with this and they say its not a support issue but a bug/feature request and to go the bugzilla route.

    I personally think this is wrong as the feature was already there in the first place, its just dissapeared without notice. So they should fix it.

    At least for backward compatibility it should check for one in the homedir "and" also the output dir, fair enough i think.

    or you could place one in /etc/webalizer.conf instead as this then overides all the other ones in the homedirs (ok if you need custom global webalizer settings i guess)

    Hope this helps someone

    Lewis
     
  7. jeff_s

    jeff_s Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, Lewis. You hit the nail on the head.

    I moved my webalizer.conf from $homedir to $homedir/tmp/webalizer and it is again working fine.

    I received this reply to my bug report #3283:

    So I guess that's that. The location of the file is moved. It does seem odd that a configuration file is in a tmp directory. My interpretation of "tmp" is "temporary".

    C'est la vie!

    -Jeff_s
     
  8. forlinuxsupport

    forlinuxsupport Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Boy you have to love the detailed explanations from cpanel..

    Umm.. Why would you need to move it ?? come on cpanel you can do better than that surely ??

    What is the reasoning behind moving it ? Does someone at cpanel say.. um lets see if we can break all those peoples custom config files and mess up their statistics. and .. we wont tell them :)

    Wot a joke..... Statistics are very important to some people..
    :mad:
     
Loading...

Share This Page