The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

webdisk/vista

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dragon2611, May 5, 2007.

  1. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ran cpanel update on my server earlier today, its set to the current tree and therefore picked up the new cpanel11

    One of the new features being web disk, I thought i'd give it a try myself so i opened ports 2077 and 2078 on the servers firewall.

    I've tryed accessing the secure version of webdisk using my own cpanel account (its a standard cpanel account i created for my personal site)

    I downloaded the script to setup the webdisk ran it and was prompted for my pass.

    i entered my cpanel user/pass and hit ok, then i get another prompt which shows domain.net/username

    try entering the pass on that and it then comes up again so i try changing it to just username and put my pass in.

    Then i got the message shown below

    if i press yes it opens i.e and i can see a list of my folders as hyperlinks but that's not what i want i wanted it to open as a web folder but for some reason vista doesn't seem to want to do it.

    tried the non SSL version and got the same message.


    This is on both vista ultimate x64 on my desktop and vista home basic 32bit on a laptop.

    Did I miss a port somewhere that's needed for it to work or is it a vista issue?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. icer5k

    icer5k Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem. I tried Web Disk on one of my Server 2003 boxes, and it seemed to work fine, however...
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  4. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my windows 2003 has also the same problem...
     
  5. ukstu

    ukstu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have same problem on XP Pro
     
  6. ukstu

    ukstu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Update to say my problem was Port 2078 was being firewalled :)
     
  7. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On the server or on the client side?
     
  8. ukstu

    ukstu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry for late reply,
    It was IPTables on the Server blocking the port.
     
  9. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    we had opened the two ports, but it still has the problems....
     
  10. dwykofka

    dwykofka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have 2077 and 2078 open in ip tables and I can access them however I only get the default view which is not interactive.

    whatever
     
    #10 dwykofka, May 25, 2007
    Last edited: May 25, 2007
  11. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  12. Mindlash

    Mindlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, so this is random.

    (and I can repeat this)

    Ultimately the problem is the VBS for XP that's downloaded is for the domain 'luvhimba.com' -- which isn't on our server at all.

    Steps to reproduce: : IE7

    1) log into cPanel

    2) click Web Disk

    3) scroll down to bottom, click 'Access Web Disk' (the default account)

    4) Choose "Windows XP" from windows drop-down box.

    -- NOTE --
    For me, I get a popup warning from IE -- fairly standard

    -- FURTHER NOTE --
    If I ignore the IE protection bar, and continue reading the instructions for creating a web disk on my desktop... (As I suspect plenty of users will do)

    5) Click the link "Click here and save to your Desktop"

    -- NOTE --
    This produces a downloadable file named: Create_Web_Disk.vbs <-- problem child

    If you open this file it shows the following:

    ' *************************************************************************
    ' Configurable Variables
    ' *************************************************************************
    strURL = "http://luvhimba.com:2077/" ' This is the URL to the WebDAV share.
    strDomain = "luvhimba.com" ' This is the name of the domain.

    -- Workaround --
    How "I" get around this, and others may not be able to is, after step 4 above click 'Download File' from the IE protection bar -- this doesn't actually download the file, just gets rid of the protection bar, and makes you go back to step 4, where you have to choose the opperating system again.

    At this point when you choose 'Windows XP' it prompts you to open/save the file. When I download that and open it, it now correctly has the domain it should.

    -- NOTE --
    This 'proper' file is named "(mydomainname.com) Secure WebDisk.vbs"

    Can anyone else produce this? If so, is this something that should be reported here or elsewhere?
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yep same thing here. Also had to create the actual directory manually. Otherwise could not connect via IE.

    I bet ol' luvhimba.com is racking up some nice big logfiles right now. :p
     
  14. isaie

    isaie Registered

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can confirm having the same problem as Mindlash and Infopro.

    This should probably be entered in Bugzilla...
     
  15. jemmille

    jemmille Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Vista Webdav instructions.

    This is the best I have come up with for Cpanel WebDav in Vista:

    # Click on the Start Menu
    # Right-click on Computer, then click on "Map Network Drive..."
    # A "Map Network Drive" dialog will appear
    # Towards the bottom of this box there is a link that says "Connect to a Web site that you can use to store your documents and pictures, and then click Next."
    # The "Add Network Location" Wizard will pop up, click "next"
    # On the following screen click "Choose a custom network location" and click "Next"
    # Enter http://domain.tld:2077 (use https://domain.tld:2078 for SSL. This didn't work well although I did get it to connect eventually)
    # Enter your full username and password and click "OK" (you may have to do this multiple times with SSL)
    # Enter a name for the share in "What do you want to name this location" then click "next"
    # Click on "Finish" on the last screen.
    # The WebDav share should now show up under "My Computer"
     
  16. Pepi2005

    Pepi2005 Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Still cannot connect

    Hello guys,
    I have a question...I have created 2 webdisks, one called 01 and the other one called 02, with a different user/pass for each.
    Now, I upload a file to 01...I can see it properly. The problem is that the same file shows up in 02...and I haven´t uploaded anything to 02.
    It is possible to make 01 to "see" only what it is in 01 and not in 02 and the other way round?
    I would like the users NOT to "see" each other folders...kinda make them "private" (apart from "password protect directory)

    Any hint?
     
    #16 Pepi2005, May 9, 2008
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
  17. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If they are set for different folders and you are logging into each account separately (may be difficult in some environments with a single machine), then they should not see each other's contents as long as one folder isn't the parent/child of another etc.
     
  18. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page