Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Webmail high load

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by neutro, Dec 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    top - 14:06:10 up 212 days, 12:27, 1 user, load average: 95.09, 65.61, 29.30
    Tasks: 358 total, 6 running, 351 sleeping, 0 stopped, 1 zombie
    Cpu(s): 95.2% us, 4.6% sy, 0.0% ni, 0.0% id, 0.0% wa, 0.2% hi, 0.0% si
    Mem: 4151256k total, 4051020k used, 100236k free, 60048k buffers
    Swap: 2096440k total, 856k used, 2095584k free, 1640016k cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    18015 cpanelro 25 0 20808 10m 4+64 R 46.3 0.3 0:54.43 php-cgi
    18163 cpanelro 25 0 20808 10m 4064 R 43.7 0.3 0:59.95 php-cgi
    17981 cpanelro 25 0 20808 10m 4064 R 43.4 0.3 0:55.19 php-cgi

    Why is my webmail always causing server overload. I normally have to kill these process.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Globy

    Globy Guest

    I have the same problem, any solutions found?
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are on the latest builds and this issue persists, I recommend letting our technical analysts take a look at this for you: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  4. danielws

    danielws Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    here is the same.
     
  5. ahmsw

    ahmsw Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    same here

    cpanelro is eating the cpu and the ram.

    top - 15:45:31 up 20 days, 3:11, 1 user, load average: 1.92, 2.07, 2.18
    Tasks: 138 total, 3 running, 135 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 52.2% us, 0.5% sy, 0.0% ni, 38.9% id, 8.3% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
    Mem: 2074900k total, 2042856k used, 32044k free, 94352k buffers
    Swap: 2048276k total, 34892k used, 2013384k free, 1278664k cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    28936 cpanelro 25 0 25436 11m 4880 R 100.0 0.6 394:34.09 php
    12570 nobody 15 0 22148 10m 2056 S 1.3 0.5 0:00.31 httpd
    13499 nobody 15 0 22132 10m 2020 S 1.0 0.5 0:00.07 httpd
    7851 root 16 0 2528 1044 764 R 0.7 0.1 0:07.89 top
    9877 root 16 0 5360 3908 2312 S 0.7 0.2 0:03.29 authProg
    :(
     
  6. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Also having this problem on a server today.
     
  7. s1llyforyou

    s1llyforyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    hello

    i have same problem
    let me know more on this process
    what is this process?
     
  8. GTFO

    GTFO Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Is their any news or threads about this because my server is having similar problems in which this cpanelro process is eating my resources, and I have no clue what it is or who is running it.
     
  9. GTFO

    GTFO Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
  10. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This just happend to me on one server for the first time...

    strace shows nothing, like process is not doing anything just using 100% CPU.
     
  11. s1llyforyou

    s1llyforyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    hello

    cpanelro is the account used by cPanel to run roundcube (webmail). Roundcube
    can be resource intensive, and can use a large amount of ram/cpu in some
    cases.
    If you would like, you can disable roundcube webmail.

    WHM: Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings >> Mail

    Uncheck: "RoundCube Webmail"
     
  12. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, that is not the reason here, we are talking about stucked proces that can just use 100% CPU for hours and have to be killed eventually.
     
  13. LeetWebH

    LeetWebH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Any update on this issue? Ive seen the same thing happend to my server, lucky its a quad core and it doesnt affect it that much, but it aint no good to see 100% of one core being wasted by a faulty cpanel module
     
  14. hekri

    hekri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Any update? The same problems on couple servers after update to last stable.
     
  15. sweetsteve

    sweetsteve Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'm also seeing this, killing my server. I kill off the process and it keeps coming back with up to 20 or so copies running.
     
  16. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    At this time, I still recommend letting our technical analysts assist with these issues: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  17. hekri

    hekri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Any solution I see on the forum that problem have about 20 people.
     
  18. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cpanelro is likely the cpanelroundcube user. We are working on addressing this problem in cPanel 11.25
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. hekri

    hekri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Thanx for reply. When you will have any solution please write it to thise ticket. I dont need upgrade cPanel thise stable working ok only thise one bug ;-)
     
  20. electron33

    electron33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I've just noticed this problem on our server too. The load is constantly above 2.

    Thanks for looking into this cPanel
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice