The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

webmail login error from cPanel

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by jfall123, May 12, 2009.

  1. jfall123

    jfall123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've recently build a new server and migrated some accounts to it:

    cPanel 11.24.4-S35075 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 5.3 x86_64 xen

    For some reason users are given an error when hitting the "access webmail" icon in cPanel. It brings them to a screen that says "logging you in" then to the webmail login screen with a "login failed" message. If I then login with their e-mail and password it works fine.

    It seems like whatever password/session cPanel is trying to use to login to the main webmail screen is failing.

    This is what I pulled from the login log:

    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx - test@adasddddasd.com [05/12/2009:19:25:37 -0000] "GET /login/?session=test@adasddddasd.com4O0hrEIwXLSwr7zgkYmbOf7rIIESVXtH7fu7ZQkm5txAAuH2YswjmIljO36QcfSe HTTP/1.1" FAILED LOGIN webmaild: user password incorrect

    It syas user password incorrect even though I am not even getting a chance to enter one, cPanel is trying to do authenticate in some fashion but I'm not sure how. I've tried from several browsers and get the same result.

    This was a brand new account that I added to cPanel for testing, and a brand new mailbox. The mailbox login works perfectly fine if I access webmail directly, or even if I plug in the login details after I get the login failed message on the webmail login screen.

    I have several other server builds that are very similar to this one and they are all working fine.

    I've tried an upcp --force and that didn't fix it. I'm not sure what else would be causing it. Any suggestions?
     
    #1 jfall123, May 12, 2009
    Last edited: May 12, 2009
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You could try:

    /scripts/fullhordereset

    Otherwise, unless someone has a better idea, you might want to log a ticket with cPanel.
     
  3. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. jfall123

    jfall123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm not really sure how Horde plays are role here. This is the login screen that is shown BEFORE you get the choice of which webmail client to use. I suppose it may tie in somehow?

    In any event, I tried a fullhordereset and that didn't seem to resolve the problem.

    I did get an error about greating a session table though, could be related to the problem?

    Updating Horde 3.1.7p8
    tar -x -p -z --no-same-owner -f /usr/local/cpanel/src/3rdparty/gpl/horde-3.1.7p8.cpanel.tar.gz -C /usr/local/cpanel/base
    Archiving current Horde data to /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1242226884
    Horde DB successfully archived
    -rw------- 1 root root 6961360 May 13 08:01 /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1242226884
    Cleaning old Horde data archives
    Skipping /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1242226884 (archived)
    Skipping /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1242226670 (archived)
    Skipping /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1242226158 (archived)
    Skipping /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1242225769 (archived)
    Skipping /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1242225623 (archived)
    Skipping /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1241812757 (archived)
    Removing /var/cpanel/horde/horde.backup.sql.1241808650
    Creating Horde database
    ERROR 1005 (HY000) at line 166: Can't create table './horde/horde_sessionhandler.frm' (errno: 121)
    Updating Pear modules ...Done
    Horde updated to 3.1.7p8
    Restoring previous Horde data
    Resyncing Horde database items

    Your horde password is above. Horde has been reset
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The fullhoredreset script initialises the integration of the whole webmail authentication system

    Possibly. Is MySQL running? Is there sufficient space on /var? Can you get into mysql from the root shell:

    # mysql
     
  6. jfall123

    jfall123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Yeah, mysql is running ok and there is plenty of space. I tried it again and didn't get the error this time but the problem still remains :S
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are the users being prompted for a password between clicking the 'access webmail' icon and the 'logging you in' page?

    Which cPanel theme is in use?
     
  8. jfall123

    jfall123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You might be on to something here. The theme is X3, and when anyone clicks access webmail it says logging you in... and goes directly to a login failed screen (it does not prompt for a password.

    I switched one account to the X theme and when I hit access webmail it asks me to enter the password for the mailbox then after successfully doing so it brings me to the webmail selection screen.

    It seems like the X3 skin is trying to autologin users into the webmail selection screen but is failing to do so.

    The only thing I can think of that might help is I believe I originally upgraded the server to EDGE when it was first built to make use of a new migration feature only available in EDGE, then later downgraded to a stable release. Perhaps the downgrade from EDGE caused an issue somewhere?
     
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It somewhat depends upon how long ago the EDGE -> STABLE migration happened. Regardless, try /scripts/upcp --force . That will force cPanel to reinstall all the files for the branch you are using. If the problem is purely theme related, the forced update should resolve it.

    If that doesn't resolve it, please open a support ticket so we can pinpoint the reason and resolve it.
     
  10. jfall123

    jfall123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nah, I've all ready tried upcp --force a couple of times to no avail. I'll keep digging around and open up a support ticket if I can't figure it out.
     
Loading...

Share This Page