Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

webmail: outside URL

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by sparkman, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. sparkman

    sparkman Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi everyone,

    One of my cPanel users wants to create email accounts under her domain and then let users access those accounts thru webmail using only their email username and a password. What URL can they do this at?

    I've tried:

    http://ourdomain.com/cpanel/horde/
    (doesn't work at all)

    http://amrapur.net:2082/horde/
    (requires a cpanel login before you are offered a webmail login)

    I can't believe that a webmail program wouldn't let outside users access their webmail, so I must be missing something. Any ideas?

    Thanks!


    Shawn Yarbrough
    shawn@simpli.biz
     
  2. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
  3. sparkman

    sparkman Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks! That works for me.

    Also, is there some way to make /webmail/ always default straight into Horde so users don't have to log in twice? Double logins look very unprofessional.
     
  4. BenO

    BenO Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    bump ! i would to know too, if we could have only one webmail by default and login only on it !
     
  5. Port80Hosting

    Port80Hosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    bump
     
  6. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  7. Port80Hosting

    Port80Hosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  8. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Spain
  9. Port80Hosting

    Port80Hosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Then they have to login twice. :(
     
  10. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    that's normal behavior with horde, but the info should appear automatically

    Plus you could just add onload="document.implogin.submit()" to the body of /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/imp/login.php
     
  11. Port80Hosting

    Port80Hosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151

    It just looks unproffesional if you ask me. I would rather they get the nice login page instead of the pop up for authenticication. But I dont want mess up any of the security by like just removing the .htaccess file or whatever is making that pop up.
     
  12. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  13. Port80Hosting

    Port80Hosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  14. fizz

    fizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    When i worked for a large web host, we had webmail.blah setup and userts logged in with full email, i had a set routine that would automatically connect to remote domain @domain.com and then also use full email to authenticate. You could use this server wide, or even company wide. It was a huge hit. But if you plan on doing this and you have more than say 5-10,000 customers, setup a dedicated webmail box. Ill toy around with the new horde and see if i can work something simillar out.
     
  15. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166

    You said you didn't like the popup box. I gave you three ways to get rid of it.
     
  16. vicos

    vicos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Am I missing something here? Why do you have to authenticate through http to get to the webmail login? What if I have 100 email accounts on my domain and I want all 100 people to be able to use Horde? I have to give them my cpanel username and password to get in? That doesn't make any sense.

    I have a Plesk box and they have it setup so that webmail.domain.com takes you right to the Horde login page. Isn't there some generic URL on a CPANEL box that doesn't require HTTP authentication? I must be missing something.
     
  17. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  18. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  19. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I do, but it's too far integrated into my site to give out. It's very easy to do if you know a little php.
     
Loading...

Share This Page