Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Webmail Port Blocked

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by razrdj, Jan 15, 2016.

  1. razrdj

    razrdj Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi.

    I have customers who use our services on their schools, their school blocks the webmail port which is kind of annoying.

    I could do two things:
    - Enable Proxy Subdomains
    - Install own instance of Roundcube

    Isn't Proxy Subdomains a security risk?

    Proxy:
    Pro: All custom settings made in RoundCube by users will stay because there is only one instance of RoundCube running.

    Con: I heard they could hide their real IP address? Must be a security thing.


    Own instance:
    Pro: Up to date roundcube version, everyone can access the webmail because it's running on port 80.

    Con: Users must change custom settings again, they are not synchronized between cPanel instance and own instance.

    My customers are using webmail alot.

    I want to know your opinions. Proxy or custom instance?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,160
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. razrdj

    razrdj Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Isn't that a proxy subdomain?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,160
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm going to assume here that you're referring to this message in CSF security check:
    You'll have to decide whats best for your environment. Those security checks suggestions are best practice suggestions.

    Correct. The docs may be of some use:
    Tweak Settings - Domains - Documentation - cPanel Documentation
    Or you can google this query for more advice on this topic:
    "access cpanel from behind corporate firewall" sans quotes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. razrdj

    razrdj Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is your opinion about it? Does it really affect security?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,160
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you need it, use it.


    My 2.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice