The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Webmin and cPanel on same VPS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mbressman, Sep 26, 2014.

  1. mbressman

    mbressman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any reason not to install Webmin on a VPS running cPanel/WHM? I understand that changes I make via Webmin could potentially impact cPanel/WHM, but if I just wanted to install Webmin so I could see more of the VPS config in a web GUI, would the actual installation of Webmin cause any issues?

    The VPS is running CentOS 64-bit if that helps. Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    cPanel is not designed to work in combination with other control panels such as Webmin. I do not recommend installing it on a cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
  3. mbressman

    mbressman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I thought that Webmin merely gave you GUI access to things that could be done via command line - in that case, what would be the harm in installing it as long as I'm careful what I do with it?
     
  4. smoge

    smoge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I do this all the time without issue. Just don't use webmin to edit things normally handled by Chanel/whm.
     
  5. mbressman

    mbressman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the confirmation smoge - much appreciated! I mostly plan to use Webmin for just checking on stuff, but just to be on the safe side, any specific areas I should stay away from making changes with Webmin?
     
  6. CubedInternet

    CubedInternet Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It will probably work, but not many would advise it, I cannot think of many conflicts
     
  7. smoge

    smoge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Mostly Apache and DNS (bind) stuff should be avoided.
     
  8. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    There will be rpm conflicts as well which might result in non-functioning of both panels so having another panel with cPanel is not recommended.
     
Loading...

Share This Page