The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Webmin

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ho247, Nov 27, 2002.

  1. ho247

    ho247 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United kingdom
    Has anyone installed Webmin (http://www.webmin.com/) on a CPanel server? If yes, have you experienced any problems or are there any special install instructions I should know about?

    Alan
     
  2. ho247

    ho247 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United kingdom
    Not too sure... but it was something that came to mind. I don't see any problems with it... it's useful to setup accounts not associated with CPanel. Is that possible? (throwing out ideas now)

    Alan
     
  3. Nadeem

    Nadeem Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have webmin ans Cpanel on the same server for more then 6 months whith no proplems..
     
  4. chakorules

    chakorules Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any more thoughts on this?

    The only thing I can think of is if webmin changes a configuration that has to do with CPanel, Cpanel would over write the changes by webmin.

    I wanted to do the same thing, install webmin on an already running Cpanel server.

    My reason is because WHM does not have near the down deep control that webmin gives you. I'd like to use webmin to do things that aren't even in the WHM panel. So in my mind right now, I am thinking there would be no conflict installing webmin in WHM/CPanel with in mind that I will be using controls that should not affect WHM.

    But I sure would like to get more feedback is there are any others out there that have install webmin with Cpanel. Anyone else?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    We're thinking of installing Webmin too, but don't want to break something!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. steveswaldo

    steveswaldo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have webmin installed and working great! what i like is im able to edit configuration files with out logging into ssh
     
  7. chakorules

    chakorules Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How did you install it? Just run RPM with default installation? Does that hurt anything?
     
  8. paint

    paint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    They work fine together. I have been running them together no problem on many servers. And yes you just install from the rpm.
     
  9. Drew Nichols

    Drew Nichols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    I'll give it a try and see how it goes.
     
  10. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Had it on an older server soley for its in depth server management controls, but I also had it on another server that it completly fubared, it's definatly one of thsee, "use at your own risk" type scenerio's.

    Redhat 7.3 - worked like a charm
    Redhat 8.0 - broke everything thats breakable :eek:
     
  11. steveswaldo

    steveswaldo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i never install anything by rpm i compile from source
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Webmin
  1. Dradden45
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    151

Share This Page