The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Webprotect on FrontPage enabled account problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JustinK, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On one of the servers I watch over, any account created with frontpage extensions is unable to use password protection on a directory. The login box prompts for the username and password, but when the correct info is typed in, a 404 error is displayed. The error_log shows a segmentation fault error immediately after. It only appears to be happening on one server and only on accounts setup with frontpage extensions (even after removing extensions via WHM for accounts originally setup with them, it does the same thing).

    Anyone ever run into something like this or have a clue on how to fix it?
     
  2. mditnetworks

    mditnetworks Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you ever fixed that, i have the same problem ?
     
  3. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have same problem all of a sudden also. But it's not just frontpage sites. Any site that has something password protected has stopped working, and just brings up a 404 error after they enter their username and password.
     
  4. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Frontpage uses the .htaccess file for it's authentication and modifying the file while Frontpage is installed should be avoided. FP modifies it in a special way and almost any modification to the file will break things.

    You pretty much only have 2 options here:

    1) Use FP and not use the .htaccess file for the power it can provide.

    2) Get rid of FP and use the .htaccess file for the power it can provide.

    Trying to use the functionality of both simultaneously can be quite futile (say 'Thank You' to Microsoft).

    Jaz
     
  5. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't even have fronpage extensions installed on the domains that it isnt working with
     
  6. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope, never did get it fixed. Originally the user had done the password protection through frontpage and it had done the same thing.
     
  7. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone have any new information on this? I still have to deal with no password protected directorys working.

    :( Please help
     
Loading...

Share This Page