Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Website optimised for HTTP 2.0, not 1.1 - Bad idea?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Reado, Oct 5, 2018.

  1. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    With HTTP/1.1, our website had a separate sub-domain that handled all requests for images, CSS and JavaScript. This configuration also meant that no cookies were used on that sub-domain, which was the recommendations given by YSlow at the time.

    As things have moved on, we have implemented HTTP/2.0 and scrapped the sub-domain, so now everything is served from one domain. For clients using HTTP/2.0, our website is faster than ever, but would it be fair to say that clients that still use the HTTP/1.1 method would see poorer performance?

    Looking at our Google Webmaster Tools, our page load time is higher compared to what it is in Google Chrome or Firefox. I'm guessing this is because Googlebot still uses HTTP/1.1 and therefore will not see the benefits of HTTP/2.0.

    So instead of just optimising the website for HTTP/2.0 and removing the optimisations for HTTP/1.1, should I be optimising the website for both, which would cater for Googlebot too?

    If I re-add these optimisations for HTTP/1.1, is it likely our Google Webmaster Tools will start to report better load times?
     
  2. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think I just answered my own question!
     
    #2 Reado, Oct 5, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 9, 2018
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,815
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Reado

    I'm glad to hear that you were able to resolve your issue - we don't allow links to 3rd party sites, let us know how you answered the question if you have time!


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice