The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Website Unreachable at times / Emails not working at all

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Zero.80, May 6, 2015.

  1. Zero.80

    Zero.80 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Guys,

    I've got a VPS server from GoDaddy and cannot seem to make it work, I've got 2 issues that are driving me nuts...

    Issue 1
    Some of my clients websites cannot be reached at certain times, and sometimes their IPs get blocked, so I disabled cphulk and installed the ConfigServer Firewall, so whenever my clients had issues loggin in, I'd simply temporary unlock the IP and they were in.... this is not a standard procedure and I dont think big hosting companies do this... so Im trying to figure out a way to make sure everybody can access their websites without getting blocked.

    Issue 2
    In the same server, Im trying to make emails work.. I can send emails out, nothing gets in...

    So for both issues, is there a photo or a guide so that I can compare my non-working settings to a working setting?

    Can you help?

    I've checked my authoritative ns.... I've created an MX record pointing to my mail.domain.com I've also created an A record pointing to my ns1.domain.com (authoritative ip) but nothing happens... I know I have to wait for the things to propagate but its been days now and nothing works...

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    1. That's actually a common method of helping to prevent brute force attacks. How are you customers getting blocked by the firewall? Are they making too many failed login attempts?

    2. I suggest creating your own name servers at the domain registrar and then configuring your domain names to use those name servers. This is likely easier than attempting to manually configure each individual DNS record. The following guide will help you get started:

    Nameserver Configuration Tutorial

    Thank you.
     
  3. Zero.80

    Zero.80 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your reply... not too many just a few but they get blocked anyway.... if you have a few login attempts here with customer 1 and then customer 2,3,4,5 do the same the sites get blocked.... God knows why....

    I already have the nameservers configured... but Ill follow your guide step by step and get back to you... thanks!
     
  4. Zero.80

    Zero.80 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If cphulk is enabled they get blocked way faster... thats why I disabled it.... sometimes sites work on my phone but not in my laptop.... so weird....
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may want to adjust the configuration settings for cPhulk to allow for more failed login attempts before an account is locked out via:

    "WHM Home » Security Center » cPHulk Brute Force Protection"

    You can also add some of your customer's IP addresses to the whitelist if possible.

    Thank you.
     
  6. Zero.80

    Zero.80 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    still working on this... got a question.... can I host websites in this same server with different nameservers?? does hostname or resolution affect this???

    Server1 has 2 ips 1.1.1.1. and 2.2.2.2
    domain.net is the "main" domain and I created the nameservers at godaddy like ns1.domain.net (1.1.1.1) ns2.domain.net (1.1.1.1)

    Then I go to WHM and create a bunch of websites... but since I need an SSL in this domain.net site I changed the IP of domain.net to (2.2.2.2) and all websites are reachable.... but Im thinking this has to do with the server not resolving at all..... when I create a new website its IP is 1.1.1.1 always

    one of these sites have different nameservers but the same ip address... same thing at godaddy.... ns1.newone.com (1.1.1.1) ns2.newone.com (1.1.1.1)

    So is it possible to have 2 working nameservers with the same IPs? should I do something differently?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can use multiple name servers on the same server for different domain names. Any name server is acceptable as long as the IP address is added to the server, and the name server is registered with the correct IP address at the domain registrar. It's also acceptable to use the same IP address for multiple name servers.

    Thank you.
     
  8. Zero.80

    Zero.80 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Reset all DNS Zones, and recreated them from scratch.... added nameservers IP and MX record to mail.domain.com and everythings working now... thanks for you help.... so as far as the email goes, its fixed, problem now is that my main domain sometimes says it cannot resolve and wont show me the site..... a few mins later it does show the site... so weird....what might that be?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried clearing the DNS cache on your machine? Also, does IntoDNS (or the dig command) show any problems with your name server configuration?

    Thank you.
     
  10. Zero.80

    Zero.80 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    so I was able to fix it, thank you all.... had to reset the DNS zones editing from WHM and making sure all zones had MX, A, CNAME records... also added the NS1, and NS2-... please use the attached file to compare your dns zone and match is as much as possible if something is missing from your own dns just add it...
     
  11. Zero.80

    Zero.80 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    this is the image, x.x.x.x IP means yours server IP
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...

Share This Page