The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Websites not answering under www.domain.com

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kieranmullen, May 21, 2008.

  1. kieranmullen

    kieranmullen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    There are multiple sites on the server (I dont know if all of them are this way) which are answering to domain.com but if someone goes to www.domain.com the default webpage for cpanel is displayed.

    Any ideas on how to fix? Company we license cpanel from has not been responsive to support emails. We didnt change it. I suspect they might have changed it when they were looking at another issue, but they said no. Perhaps the update changedit?

    Thank you

    KieranMullen
     
  2. wolfy

    wolfy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Canada
    check that the account's "www" folder is not missing at /home/[username]/www

    also check that it is symlinked to /home/[username]/public_html
    and owned by the account user.

    also check dns records for each problem website for a CNAME entry for "www."
    if missing you will need to add one :)
     
  3. kieranmullen

    kieranmullen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    thank you, yes
    Here is one of those websites)
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 paramoun paramoun 11 Dec 4 2006 www -> public_html/

    drwxr-x--- 12 paramoun nobody 4096 Aug 24 2007 public_html/

    (public html exists)

    nano /etc/named.conf ( yes)
    nano /var/named/paramount-domain.com.db (yes)
    www 14400 IN CNAME paramount-domain.com.
     
  4. wolfy

    wolfy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Canada
    have you checked your /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf file for the entry
    ServerAlias www.paramount-domain.com
    ?
    if it exists then I myself am out of ideas... maybe try a forced cpanel update then rebuild apache with easyapache3
     
    #4 wolfy, May 21, 2008
    Last edited: May 21, 2008
  5. kieranmullen

    kieranmullen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    well ndchost was on the server updating the easyapache config. I have no idea why it left the www off of some domains and not all. I also dont know why they were reluctant to fix. Sounds like bad a bad customer service practice to me.

    Anyhow you were right. I restored entries in /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf and restarted apache and all is now well.

    Thank you
     
  6. wolfy

    wolfy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Canada
    glad it worked out :)
    yes good support is very hard to find, i think its now becoming the one major factor in choosing a host these days since theres just so many :)
     
  7. JamieW

    JamieW Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't know which caused it, but when I upgraded to WHM 11.23 and Apache 2.2, my domains lost their www. ServerAlias's too.

    I edited httpd.conf and restarted the web server as above and that fixed it as well. I hope that's a permanent fix too. I'm having my server hosting check into it.
     
  8. deepunix

    deepunix Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here.

    Looks like a bug.
     
  9. leorevenda

    leorevenda Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same problem

    same problem here too, all domains lost serverlias www.domain.com on httpd.conf
     
  10. leorevenda

    leorevenda Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Solution

    Hello, I found a temporary solution:

    edit file /var/cpanel/templates/apache2/vhost.default

    and change files:

    [% FOREACH alias IN vhost.serveralias_array -%]
    ServerAlias [% alias %]
    [% END -%]
    [% ELSE -%]
    ServerAlias [% vhost.serveralias %]

    to


    [% FOREACH alias IN vhost.serveralias_array -%]
    ServerAlias [% alias %] www.[% vhost.serveralias %]
    [% END -%]
    [% ELSE -%]
    ServerAlias [% vhost.serveralias %] www.[% vhost.serveralias %]

    make a backup of your httpd.conf

    After this try to run:

    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf


    After problem is fixed, probably you need edit this file again and remove lines
     
  11. ljprevo

    ljprevo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am having this same issue.

    So anything linked to a WWW is hanging and producing 404 errors.

    Please fix this!!!
     
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page